why do you want to root?

RCholic

Sep 13, 2011
I'm a newbie, so please be gentle.

I saw a few post on rooting the acer A500 tablet, I'm just curious why you guys want to root it? what is the benefit of doing so? :confused:

HD87

May 14, 2011
I'm a newbie, so please be gentle.

I saw a few post on rooting the acer A500 tablet, I'm just curious why you guys want to root it? what is the benefit of doing so? :confused:
Got tethering working (ad hoc).
Got Netflix working -> http://www.androidtablets.net/forum...m/19595-got-netflix-working-a500-i-do-xd.html
Able to back-up ROM & Kernel with CWM. Apps & data with Titanium BackUp
Changed ROM from stock 3.1 to 3.2 HoneyVillain 1.1 & Kernel.
Overclocked @ 1.6 Mhz for better performance with setCPU -> https://market.android.com/details?id=com.mhuang.overclocking&feature=search_result
Changed theme to PCB Blue Theme -> http://forum.xda-developers.com/showthread.php?t=1242311
Changed Boot Animation -> http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/acer-iconia-tab-a500-forum/21594-how-change-boot-animation.html
Able to hide the Honeycomb bar -> https://market.android.com/details?id=com.tlalexander.tabletbarhider&feature=search_result

Last edited:

spexwood

May 11, 2011
Rooting allows the user to have access to files within the Android system that are otherwise inaccessible; possibly to keep people from screwing up their devices and then demanding their money back.

Once rooted, the user doesn't only have access to these files, but apps can have access too, which allows for special functions, such as fully backing up app settings, overclocking your CPU, modifying your system, etc etc.

Rooting can be cool and useful if you know how to use it.
I know you didnt say you were planning to root, but I always tell Android noobs to not root unless they know how to do it (or have a friend who can do it for them) AND as long as they do not delete or alter any system files that they dont know what they do.