Wi-fi not working correctly

Discussion in 'Huawei Ideos S7 Technical' started by dracu_n_dulap, Sep 15, 2011.

  1. dracu_n_dulap

    dracu_n_dulap Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7-101
    Hello! The issue is that i cannot connect to, or sometimes even see, certain wireless networks. For example at work there is an open network wich anybody can use, but for the love of god i cannot connect to it when it is seen. I say "when it's seen" because most of the time my S7 doesn't even see it (it happens with other networks as well , it's like now you see it , now you don't). With my other phone (a Nokia) i can see and connect to it without any hassle.
    At home i have a wireless router with a 10db omnidirectional antenna wich is on my house, but i get such a low coverage. I dind't even noticed this until someone with an iTampon :mad: (iPad) got my network at more than 300 meters, a distance at wich my S7 picks up only whistling wind.
    Is this issue common or is mine needing a screwdriver?
     
  2. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    Unfortunately, poor Wi-Fi reception is a common complaint with tablets.
     
  3. dracu_n_dulap

    dracu_n_dulap Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7-101
    Would that be because of the OS? Or really crappy wi-fi modules. The antenna cannot be the issue, 'cause you can put a pretty big antenna in a tablet:).
    Let's say i can live with the poor reception, but what's up with the selectivity?
     
    Last edited: Sep 15, 2011
  4. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    I'm not sure what the cause is.
     
  5. Jota

    Jota Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2011
    Messages:
    106
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    BH, Brazil
    Tablet / Device:
    Ideos S7_105


    I too have exactly the same issues!
    At home I got a better signal on the S7 from my neighbors Wi-Fi than from my own router!
    It's crazy!

    I've tried a Galaxy Tab and a ZTE V9 and both have much better reception.

    What I can say from my experimentation, is that the rom have some influence, with some rom's wi-fi works better than with others.
    For my S7-105, the Sweden Expert is the better one, and Taiwan the worst.

    So, I guess it is a mix of bad software - Android, with bad hardware - Huawei !? :confused:
     
  6. Spider

    Spider Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2011
    Messages:
    15,413
    Likes Received:
    1,784
    Trophy Points:
    1,000
    Location:
    Chicago, IL
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOK Tablet Stock NOOKcolor Rooted/Flashed Nexus 7 (2013) 32GB Stock
    Some people have said changing to a channel less than 11 on their router worked for them. Worth a try?
     
  7. SEMIJim

    SEMIJim Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2011
    Messages:
    359
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    S.E. Michigan, U.S.A.
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio VTAB1008, Samsung Galaxy Tab 2 10.1
    Don't know why channel 11 should be a problem. Those channels are so close together on the 2.4GHz band that they overlap one another.

    For the record: My Vizio VTAB1008's WiFi works about as well as the WiFi in my laptop, if not better.

    Jim
     
  8. dracu_n_dulap

    dracu_n_dulap Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7-101
    Changed the rom (using tri_zet's rom) and i could actualy connect to the network once, but surely i lost the signal and once again couldn't find the network. Could it be just bad software? I hope so!!!.
     
  9. dracu_n_dulap

    dracu_n_dulap Member

    Joined:
    Jun 23, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Tablet / Device:
    Huawei S7-101
    Well this is weird
    $screenshot.png
    I'm connected to a network. But which?
    First i thought that it connected thru 3g, because i had the sim card in, and is just an error.
    then i took the sim card out and......
    $screenshot_1.png
    it connected on it's own
    internet working on both cases
    any ideas?
     
    Last edited: Sep 28, 2011

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
c8810 wifi eroor
,

c8810 wifi error

,
wifi c8810