Will McPad F1 (AllWinner A13) get the speech-input features of Android?

Discussion in 'McBub.com' started by Labyrintho, Jul 5, 2012.

  1. Labyrintho

    Labyrintho Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I bought a McPad F1 and overall have been pretty pleased with it, especially considering the price. :)

    But one conspicuous disappointment has been the lack of speech input (speech-to-text) for dictating messages and queries. This is standard in Android 4.X, but not found on my McPad F1's Android 4.03.

    Will the F1 be gaining these features soon, I hope?

    Thanks!
     
  2. McBub.com

    McBub.com Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
    Tablet / Device:
    Ainol NOVO 7 Paladin, NOVO 7 Elf, Samsung Galaxy SII, iPad 2
    Hi Labyrintho

    Thanks for your attention and suggestion. We have communicated with our manufacturer about this point. And they are trying to improve that. I will upload the new firmware when it is done.

    Mcbub.com
     
  3. Labyrintho

    Labyrintho Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I look forward to seeing the results! I wonder if a single-core CPU is simply not up to the task of preprocessing the voice input for the Google servers--that's my fear. We shall see!

    Thanks for your reply, and for the great little tablet.
     
  4. Labyrintho

    Labyrintho Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Maybe this is the more sensible question to ask today: will the McPad F1 ever get full-blown Android Jellybean? :D In English? (hope, hope, hope....)
     
  5. rsargent

    rsargent Member

    Joined:
    Aug 14, 2012
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Z├╝rich, Switzerland
    Tablet / Device:
    McBub McPad F1
    Where would such updated firmware be uploaded?
     
  6. McBub.com

    McBub.com Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
    Tablet / Device:
    Ainol NOVO 7 Paladin, NOVO 7 Elf, Samsung Galaxy SII, iPad 2
    Haaaa thanks for your suggestion, we are trying....
    And now McBub had stocked Jellybean OS tablet, Dual core RK3066. click here to view more.
     
  7. McBub.com

    McBub.com Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
    Tablet / Device:
    Ainol NOVO 7 Paladin, NOVO 7 Elf, Samsung Galaxy SII, iPad 2
  8. Labyrintho

    Labyrintho Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I hope there are some updates! The F1 tablet is a great bargain, but kind of painful to use right now: so slow, and no speech-to-text input. Thanks for keeping us updated!
     
  9. McBub.com

    McBub.com Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2012
    Messages:
    461
    Likes Received:
    40
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Shenzhen, Guangdong, China
    Tablet / Device:
    Ainol NOVO 7 Paladin, NOVO 7 Elf, Samsung Galaxy SII, iPad 2
    Thanks for your attention. you can clear the cache and it will be fast. Sorry we dont have new update firmware now. ^^
     
  10. Grayson73

    Grayson73 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 28, 2012
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    How do you clear the cache?
     
  11. CosmoKramer

    CosmoKramer Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2012
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    NY
    Tablet / Device:
    Onda V711
    I had the McPad F1 about a month ago and was able to get Speech Input working. I also just got the Onda V711 and did the same thing to get speech input working.

    I just downloaded the 1Mobile Market and searched and installed "voice search". It's version 2.1.4. After that you just open it and Voice Search should work :D I'm sure there are other ways, but this worked for me everytime. I also installed Voice Search on x86 platform with this way as well.

    Let me know if it worked. Good luck
     
  12. Labyrintho

    Labyrintho Member

    Joined:
    Jul 5, 2012
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Well, I was hoping for the real Jelly Bean continuous speech dictation, but that's probably forever a dream on this device.

    For some reason, I was not able to install Voice Search Advanced. Or at least, it's been "installing" for the last 20 minutes or so....

    I really appreciate your efforts--thanks for the suggestions.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

how to change voice input to text input on allwinner-tablet