Will the Vizio 8" do what I need it to do?

GringoDog

Oct 28, 2011
I was in Costco yesterday and spotted the price drop on the Vizio 8" tablet down to $189.99. That price is awfully appealing, but I'm new to tablets. I wrote a post on the "What should I buy" thread, and hope you guys can tell me if the Vizio is a good fit for what I need. (or suggest something else?)

I have been using a itouch 2nd generation for years for browsing the internet, email and forums when I travel or when I'm lying around in bed or on the couch and too lazy to get up and get my laptop. The screen size and keyboard have finally become too much of a pain, and I'd like to replace it. I originally intended to buy a netbook, but now I see that those are antiques compared to the tablets.

1) what you will be using the tablet for. list any features you need, such as g-sensor, gps, bluetooth, Adobe Flash, or any specific apps.
I don't even know what some of this stuff is!
I only want wi-fi - don't need to connect it to a data plan.
Flash would be nice.
Main uses: Extensive email, forum participation, internet browsing, and I'd like to be able to do some content creation on the websites that I own (maybe some short postings, or a reply to a comment, maybe be able to write or edit short articles that I keep in dropbox).
One of my biggest priorities is a keyboard that is usable with more than one finger. I'm used to touch typing, but know that tablets are not good for that. However, the app called "Thumbs" looks like it would make content creation much easier and faster with a tablet keyboard.

I will use it occasionally for reading (online and ebooks), and some financial stuff.
An added BONUS would be if I could hook this up to my HDTV for streaming movies.
I do not plan on storing music or many photos on this tablet.

Battery length, weight and cameras are not big issues, as I use this mostly at home.