X5 Tablet SD Card help please?

Discussion in 'Coby Tablet Accessories' started by vampirethebuffyslayer, Oct 21, 2010.

  1. vampirethebuffyslayer

    vampirethebuffyslayer Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2010
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    I've recently bought a Telechips X5 7" Tablet from Amazon.co.uk.
    Latest 1080P 2GB X5A 7" Android 2.1 Tablet PC with Telechip 8902 processor and HDMI out: Amazon.co.uk: Computers & Accessories

    After a number of initial teething problems I'm left with one major problem I can't figure out for myself so I'd appreciate some help.
    Every time I insert an SD card the whole tablet hangs. I've tried three different sized cards by two different manufacturers all with the same result. The only way to get it working again is to reset.

    I hope someone out there can help me resolve this issue.
     
  2. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    OK, Basic question. Is this while it is powered up or when you are booting the device. Some Devices do not like on the fly insertion of media. This indicates build issues. But, in reality normal behaviour. Android like Linux sometimes has issues with power on exchange of storage
    If it has issues if the SD card while booting, that is a different thing. You have incompatible flawed firmware and you need to replace the unit or the Firmware. It could be the wiring so it would not be firmware.
     
  3. lafatlife

    lafatlife Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Tablet / Device:
    Generic Apad apparently
    I am having the same problem. It doesn't matter if I insert the card while the tablet is off or on. It just freezes and I have to reset it.
     
  4. gurgle

    gurgle Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2010
    Messages:
    1,463
    Likes Received:
    130
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    Near 39.11°N 94.6°W
    Tablet / Device:
    Better question What don't I own, Oh a generic APAD
    OK, some research has indicated the format of the card/and some cards have compatibility with the HSG X5A I would recommend you download the HP format flash utility and format the drive Here is the link and instructions. Otherwise try different flash cards. I am not having issues. but I do not change my card. I power up the card with the card in hand.
     
  5. lafatlife

    lafatlife Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2010
    Messages:
    15
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Connecticut
    Tablet / Device:
    Generic Apad apparently
    I double checked my sdcard and it was formatted at fat32. I don't know how they could be formatted differently if you use a different program.
     

Share This Page