YouTube Not Working

Discussion in 'Nook Color Apps and Games' started by J515OP, Jan 8, 2011.

  1. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Like the title says youtube is no longer working. It worked after first rooting but now just returns to the home screen. I don't think I changed any setttings that would affect it.

    Any thoughts? I guess rerooting would be one option.

    Thanks,

    -JP
    Last edited: Feb 8, 2011
  2. thel8elvis
    Offline

    thel8elvis Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    VA
    Tablet / Device:
    nook color, huawei IDEOS, Pandigital Novel
    you need to clear the youtube app cache. You can use TB or nook color tools to do that, that should fix it.
  3. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    I tried clearing the cache but that didn't work. However using "TB" did work. To elaborate on thel8elvis' tip for others who run into this problem you can do the following.

    Install the Titanium Backup app (TB) if you don't have it.

    Launch the app and choose the Backup/Restore tab at the top.

    Scroll down to YouTube and tap on it.

    Then tap on the Wipe data button.

    That should do it!
  4. thel8elvis
    Offline

    thel8elvis Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    VA
    Tablet / Device:
    nook color, huawei IDEOS, Pandigital Novel
    Yes, it was not an in-depth explanation - glad you worked out the details :)

    Should work through nook color tools - force stop, clear data , clear cache. Anyhow - as I understand it the problem comes from quitting YouTube while still signed in.
  5. tjbus
    Offline

    tjbus Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Digging up an old post here. My youtube is not working and actually hasn't worked for awhile. I followed the steps above and still nothing, I select the app the screen goes black and then back to the apps menu. What do you all think?
  6. thel8elvis
    Offline

    thel8elvis Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 29, 2010
    Messages:
    59
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    VA
    Tablet / Device:
    nook color, huawei IDEOS, Pandigital Novel
    It sounds like the normal youtube cached data crash that s/b fixed by clearing.

    If you have adb access, try
    adb shell busybox rm /data/data/com.google.android.youtube -r
    and reboot.

    I would read through these 2 xda threads and try the suggestions there.

    "HQ" YouTube on NC - xda-developers
    or
    REQ: Youtube.apk - xda-developers
  7. tjbus
    Offline

    tjbus Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2011
    Messages:
    17
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Colorado
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Cool, I will give these a try and let you know.
  8. duke1231
    Offline

    duke1231 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NULL
    I do not see a tab with backup/restore.
  9. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Across the top of Titanium Backup you should have 3 buttons, Overview, Backup/Restore and Schedules. You want to use the Backup/Restore then go down to youtube.

    Sent from my rooted Nook Color using Android Tablet Forum App
  10. duke1231
    Offline

    duke1231 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NULL
    I dont have those tabs.
  11. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Do you have the Pro vesion of TB? I am using the free version but imagine it should be the same.

    Sent from my rooted Nook Color using Android Tablet Forum App
  12. duke1231
    Offline

    duke1231 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NULL
    I tried the pro thinking that is what you had, but it wont open.
  13. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    You can try installing the free version and see if you get the tabs. Then it is pretty easy to clear he cache and get goutube working again. The is a problem with signing in to goutube with your gmail account that causes it to stop working.

    I haven't looked into how to avoid the issue yet since the fix is pretty straight fowrad once you have TB working. If you don't have that option you may want to avoid signing into youtube once you get it restored.

    Sent from my rooted Nook Color using Android Tablet Forum App
  14. duke1231
    Offline

    duke1231 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NULL
    I have the free version, but I don't see the tabs.
  15. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    You can also try going into Nookolor tools, all settings, manage apps then scroll down to youtube. Inside that you have an option to clear cache and defaults which might work.

    Sent from my rooted Nook Color using Android Tablet Forum App
  16. duke1231
    Offline

    duke1231 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NULL
    Lol, sorry tried that one too. Thanks for trying to help though. All I wanted to do last night was watch milley Cyrus getting high on you tube, and it froze half way through. That's when I rebooted and couldn't go back in, lol. I am a loser.
  17. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Hmm, he weird thing is that your TB seems to be different than mine. So far clearing via TB has worked every time for me. You may want to see if you can get that working. Once TB is there you.should be able to clear no problem.

    My only other thought is you might need to uninstall pro and try the free version again. If all else fails you can reroot and that will restore youtube and should still leave everything else in place.

    Sent from my rooted Nook Color using Android Tablet Forum App
  18. duke1231
    Offline

    duke1231 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2010
    Messages:
    66
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    NULL
    Alright will try. Thanks again for hour help.
  19. ledzfilter
    Offline

    ledzfilter Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Delaware
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    I figured it out! If your SD card isn't properly installed and formatted, TB won't have all three tabs. It only displays "Overview." Hope this helps.
    • Like Like x 2
  20. J515OP
    Offline

    J515OP Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5,174
    Likes Received:
    899
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Northern CA
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color, Nook Tablet 16GB, Vizio VTab, Nexus 7
    Thanks for the update. I am sure that will help somebody experieincing the same issue. :)

    -JP

    EDIT: BTW that is because TB requires the SD card for back ups.

Share This Page