Zeam Launcher on Nook Color

Discussion in 'Nook Color Apps and Games' started by rico2001, Dec 13, 2010.

  1. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Here is a short pictorial on how to install and use the Zeam Launcher on your rooted Nook Color. This will enable you to switch to or bypass the Stock Nook UI launcher.

    -Download Zeam launcher apk file: http://dl.zeam.org/latest.apk
    -Connect your NC via micro usb cable to your computer
    -Push n (home) button and unlock your NC
    -Your NC will display you have entered usb mode
    -Open your command prompt (cmd) and go to you your "adroid-sdk-windows" folder
    -Type adb.exe kill-server
    -Type adb.exe remount (this will ready your NC to receive commands)
    -Type adb install latest.apk
    -App will install and you should see "success" displayed in cmd
    -Close windows and unplug NC
    [​IMG]

    Default NC UI screen
    [​IMG]


    -Press n (home) button
    -A menu window will appear, giving you the option of using Zeam or Default launcher
    [​IMG]


    Home screen with Power control widget loaded (Zeam Launcher)
    [​IMG]


    Installed Apps menu (Zeam Launcher)
    [​IMG]


    Pinch zoom displaying all home screen, which you can change from 3 stock NC (Zeam Launcher)
    [​IMG]


    Add actions, items, shortcuts, widgets, and folders to any home screen (Zeam Launcher)
    [​IMG]


    Zeam Launcher Settings Menu
    [​IMG]


    Workspace configuration settings menu (Zeam Launcher)
    [​IMG]


    More to come but this is a very good start to the NC.
     
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2010
  2. gadgetrants

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    You've really outdone yourself, this is excellent. Really nice walk-through, and super screenshots. In fact I'm trying out Zeam right now!

    One tiny suggestion: it looks like you lost the "adb" in "-Type install latest.apk" :) It shows up in the screenshot though.

    -Matt
     
  3. rico2001

    rico2001 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 8, 2010
    Messages:
    1,599
    Likes Received:
    264
    Trophy Points:
    222
    Location:
    Charlotte, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    NOOKcolor
    Yea, it was a typo on my part, it should be "adb install latest.apk". Thanks for the catch.
     
  4. puppster1

    puppster1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NYC
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Hi guys, sorry, for some reason I keep returning an error of "adb" is not recognized as an internal or external command, operable program or batch file.

    I already installed ADB so not sure why it's not working since I returned a SN. ADB will work when i'm in platform tools folder but not when I leave it, what did I do wrong?


    Edit: Strange it only works in my platform-tools folder... I'm completely new to this, do I have to copy the adb.exe and all associated files to every folder just for it to work?
     
    Last edited: Jan 6, 2011
  5. gadgetrants

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    Ah, that's simple to fix. You're in Windows, right? The problem is the command adb.exe is not in your system path, so it's not recognized outside of platform-tools.

    Fix: Start -> Right click on Computer -> Properties -> Advanced System Settings -> (Advanced Tab) Environmental variables Then find Path under system variables -> Edit (CAREFUL, don't erase or overwrite it!) and add at the end a semi-colon ; and then the full path to the folder where ADB is.

    That should do the trick!

    -Matt
     
  6. puppster1

    puppster1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NYC
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color

    Awesome thanks! Sorry too new with all this, it's quite a bit different than winmo.
     
  7. gadgetrants

    gadgetrants Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 22, 2010
    Messages:
    1,256
    Likes Received:
    81
    Trophy Points:
    132
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus OG Transformer, Droid 3
    Wait, are you telling me it worked!? I reread what I wrote, and it looks like Greek! I mean, it's correct...just not English.

    -Matt
     
  8. puppster1

    puppster1 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 6, 2011
    Messages:
    5
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NYC
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Made sense to me haha
     
  9. BobOmb138

    BobOmb138 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Louisville Kentucky
    Tablet / Device:
    nook Color
    I was wondering if any of you had issues with the book button on the bottom of the screen the one that takes you back to the book you were reading since i install zeam it doesnt seem to respond.
     
  10. AnimaTechnica

    AnimaTechnica Senior Member

    Joined:
    Nov 4, 2010
    Messages:
    789
    Likes Received:
    63
    Trophy Points:
    210
    Location:
    california
    Tablet / Device:
    Droid, Haipad 701, Rooted Nook Color
    got the same thing but it does work if you launch it from the original home screen - i also kept the original nook home screen so it is just an extra button press (choosing home gives the choice of original or zeam)
    as shown here

    [​IMG]

     
  11. BobOmb138

    BobOmb138 Member

    Joined:
    Jan 7, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Louisville Kentucky
    Tablet / Device:
    nook Color
    Ive been doing it that way I just wondered if there was a work around so i didnt have to switch back and forth all the time. Thanks for the reply.
     
  12. bugeyed

    bugeyed Member

    Joined:
    Jul 26, 2010
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Conroe, Texas
    A lot of good info here, thanks. Why don't you just install Zeam from the Google Market?

    Cheers,
    kev
     
  13. RaVenJ

    RaVenJ Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2011
    Messages:
    493
    Likes Received:
    31
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Tablet / Device:
    Nook Color
    Agreed, cuz that's what I did and it went just fine. So far, I'm liking Zeam better than ADW, but I think I like Launcher Pro the best overall. The cool thing is that you can configure all of them differently, then switch "modes" on the fly. I have Zeam set up for work stuff, Launcher Pro for games and ADW set up for my daughter (because you can lock the icons..)
     
  14. myyyth

    myyyth Member

    Joined:
    Jul 31, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Where is the android-sdk-windows folder located?
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
download luncher for nook color
,
go launcker package nook color
,

how to get android launchers for nook color

,

how to install a launcher on nook color

,
how to install launcher pro on nook color
,
how to install zeam on nook color
,

install go launcher as system app for nook color

,
launcher nook colot
,
launcher pro apk nook
,
launcher pro nook color apk download
,
launchers that work on nook color
,

nook color launcher

,
nook color launcher patch
,

nook color launcher pro apk

,
pro launcher apk nook
,
tricks with a nook tablet
,
widgets on zeam launcher
,

zeam

,

zeam launcher nook color

,
zeam launcher pro apk