A tablet for my mother

alpinestar

Apr 2, 2012
Hi,

I'm currently looking for a tablet for my mum, and I'm fairly new to the tablet market so not really sure where to start. Did a search but couldn't quite find what I'm looking for, so here goes:

She'll be using it for:

• Email
  • Skype (camera is essential)
  • Online TV services (such as BBC iPlayer for those from the UK) so flash will be important
  • General web browsing
​So with the above in mind, processing power is not an issue at all, as long as it can play standard quality videos smoothly (not bothered about HD). Having said that, it would be good if the interface is smooth and responsive (part of the reason for avoiding small underpowered laptops), but I figure that if my HTC can cope then a tablet will be fine. Battery life isn't important, but a good couple hours would be nice.

​Budget is absolutely no more than £200.

The larger the screen the better, so I'm guessing 10 inches would be at the far end of the scale?

She knows nothing about android and isn't particularly computer literate, but I figured that for what she needs she'll get best value for money and a touch interface with android will probably be very easy for her to get used to. While she's not techy, I know my way round a computer very well and own an android phone, so I'm happy to pay slightly less for something that I can set up for her, as long as she's ready to go after that and won't need to worry about maintenance i.e. anything more than software updates after that.

So can anyone suggest anything? I had a look and found one of these that seemed to fit the bill, but I'm wary of the fact I've never heard of the brand and the lack of reviews. Can anyone point me in the right direction?

Tanzanite

Jan 14, 2012
The ZTpad is a Zenithink C91 and it is a lovey tablet. It has its own thread on this forum here: Zenithink ZT280 C91 & C91 Upgrade