Apps without a Google Account

AndesHelp

Feb 27, 2012
withoI am new to the Android World and thought the Galaxy 5.0 would be a good replacement for my old Trustworthy iPaq 111, which lost it's USB capability. Old age maybe?

My problem is since I am new to Android there seems to be a HUGE learning curve. Any time I try to install an app I am told I have to create a Google Account. WHY? All I want to do is sync my Outlook Contacts, Notes and Tasks with the Galaxy. I do not want to post any of this information to an Open to the world online storage facility like google.

How can I install a basic sync app to this Galaxy, without having to create a Google Account? I managed to download the dejaoffice app to the Galaxy, twice. However, Google Mobile does not peovide access to the downloaded files to allow me to install it. How can I gain access to these downloads? There is no "Download Icon" :confused: in this version of Google Mobile, or on the Home page, that I can find. Which is what Samsung tells me to click on.

Maybe there is a way to install apps from my pc?

Thanks

Walkop

Apr 18, 2011
Well...you could side-load it by downloading an app manually through a website hosting said app (there are a great number). However, I really don't understand your apprehension. Not having a Google Account is crippling your Android device's capabilities regarding apps. It's simply a hassle to do things completely without Google.<br>
<br>
If I may ask, what are you worried about? You aren't providing your information to scammers or identity thieves. Also, it's not like you're giving up your credit card number (like you are required to do with Apple devices); all you need is an email, a password, a Country, and (possibly) a birthday. No real information that you couldn't access elsewhere; that's it.

Last edited:

photoweborama

Nov 7, 2011