Battery life: 66% gone overnight without doing anything...

Bruinx97

May 16, 2012
Both a tablet and Android Noob here...

I recently purchased a 7042-4 for my wife and she just called me stating that the battery drained overnight without her doing anything.

It was at 66% when she went to sleep last night and this morning about 10 hrs later, when she went to check her email and it had powered off. At power up, it said the battery needed a recharge.

My phone gets a 2% drain (if that) on the battery overnight. Is this typical/Expected?

Is there anything I can do to tune the OS to use less power?

My only suggestion to her was to power it off at night, but I think that it shouldn't drain that fast in standby.

Thanks!

J

jimbo7630

Why would you leave it in Stand By? whichever Apps are running in the background are going to drain the battery big-time!

J

jimbo7630

Ask your wife to open Settings>Applications>Running Services and see what is draining the battery.

J515OP

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2011
Ask your wife to open Settings>Applications>Running Services and see what is draining the battery.

Yes, more than likely there were apps running in the background even while it was in standby and probably something using wifi like mail apps constantly checking for new mail. Also if this tablet has bluetooth make sure that is turned off if it isn't being used. If you find the drain is coming from an app or apps you can simply change the settings of that app or remove it to correct the issue. If you can't find the app(s) responsible you can try turning on Airplane mode before long periods of inactivity to see if that helps. If that still doesn't work powering down completely before long periods of inactivity might be required.

JP

Teatime

Nov 2, 2011