Copying Movies From a Hard Drive to Ga;axy Tab 2

omar504

Oct 25, 2012
This is my first post so please bear with me..and I'm not tech savvy at all!
I'm thinking of buying a Galaxy Tab 2 and have quite a few movies on an external hard drive.
I have received conflicting info about transferring these to the tab:

hard drive needs to be fat32...but Samsung said 'format didn't matter"
formatting a hard drive to fat32 will change my harddrive from 500gb to 32gb
even if I end up with a fat32 harddrive of 500gb samsung have told me the tab won't be able to read it all as it exceeds he 32gb max

HELP!

leeshor

Dec 27, 2011
This is my first post so please bear with me..and I'm not tech savvy at all!
I'm thinking of buying a Galaxy Tab 2 and have quite a few movies on an external hard drive.
I have received conflicting info about transferring these to the tab:

hard drive needs to be fat32...but Samsung said 'format didn't matter"
formatting a hard drive to fat32 will change my harddrive from 500gb to 32gb
even if I end up with a fat32 harddrive of 500gb samsung have told me the tab won't be able to read it all as it exceeds he 32gb max

HELP!

This is very confusing to me. Your tablet should be able to see a hard disk formatted as FAT32 or NTFS but be that as it may formatting it to FAT32 will NOT turn a 500GB hard disk into a 32GB hard disk no matter how hard you try.

You may be confusing a hard disk with an SD or microSD card. What would happen to the hard disk if formatted FAT32 is that the size of any individual file would be limited to 4GB.

Maybe I'm missing something.

omar504

Oct 25, 2012
It's not a micro SD card it's an external Seagate 500gb drive. When I googled converting NFTS to Fat32 several said that it formatted it down to 32gb as that is the max in microsoft..as I said I'm not very tech savvy!