DLNA on Honeycomb

jimmybond007

Apr 1, 2011
Hello,

New to this site so please bear with me :)

I am a windows veteran and an Android newbie. Simple question...

Will a Honeycomb device (if yes, which one) be able to 'see' my DLNA certified NAS and play the files?

I'm not sure if it's a device issue or a software (app) issue or both.

Many thanks.

twokatmew

Mar 25, 2011
Unless the device has native DLNA, you'll need to add an app like "2 Player." I run it on my LG Vortex (Android 2.2.1), and it works great. It even plays WMA and other file types not native to the DLNA standard. Unfortunately on my Nook Color, it generates errors where it says it can't find the media or doesn't support the file type. Then it will ultimately play MP3s. Needless to say, I don't use it on my NC. BTW, I've tried it on Froyo, Honeycomb and Gingerbread (NC) with the same results. You can also try Twonky Mobile, but it's a huge, slothful app, not slim and quick like 2 Player.

cosmos

Apr 3, 2011
Hello,

New to this site so please bear with me :)

I am a windows veteran and an Android newbie. Simple question...

Will a Honeycomb device (if yes, which one) be able to 'see' my DLNA certified NAS and play the files?

I'm not sure if it's a device issue or a software (app) issue or both.

Many thanks.

I'm not sure about Honeycomb in general, but it states here that the Asus Transformer has a DLNA streaming client if that helps?

ASUS Eee Pad Transformer first-impressions [Video] - SlashGear

Great value tablet too! :)

twokatmew

Mar 25, 2011