External mic adapter

Tubaman

Aug 27, 2011
Hey everyone! I was wondering if anyone has had any experience with using a 3.5 mm trrs adapter cable in order to use an external microphone and still use your headphones? I am a music teacher and I would like to be able to record my classes with better results than I am able to get using the infamous internal mic. Also, TASCAM makes in interface module that they promote to Apple users, but looks like it would work with our A500(uses a 3.5 mm trrs plug) (with appropriate apps, of course). Any thoughts?

ahclem

Jul 25, 2011
If you're referring to the "Tascam iXZ Mic/Instrument Interface", I think it will work, but it's only a guess. "iPhone" mic/headsets work, and the "capsule mics" for iPhone also work (as you noticed, a mic alone provides no audio output while it's plugged in).

There are a couple of things I saw about the Tascam iXZ that may be a concern. First, it has a "phantom power" selection for professional mics (the interface unit uses 2 AA batteries for that), and I don't know how Acer would handle that through the Smartphone connection. It would be bad if you fried the audio circuits of the Acer due to the adapter being designed for an iPhone. Again, I THINK they are the same specs. I have three styles of mics and headsets "for iPhone", and they're all working fine. The capsule mic volume is a little low (about half as loud as I'd hoped, but ideal for loud noises, or speaking at close range).

Amazon isn't always the best way to get info, but a Tascam iXZ review (for iPhone of course) said that the headphone audio feeds back through the mic a little. That one may have been defective, or not plugged in correctly, who knows.

Anyway, it would be worth a shot. Even I'm tempted to give it a try. The ability to use an XLR mic would be a godsend. If you get it to work, please give us an update!