Happily Getting Library books on the Ideos S7!!

kathyrbl

Jan 5, 2011
I am a newbie who just had to troubleshoot the s7 out of the box to get library ebooks and audio books on my device and thought I would pass this on.

Many libraries use the Overdrive application to allow members to read ebooks, get audiobooks, and borrow music. Overdrive just released an android application in December (OverDrive - Global distributor of digital eBooks, audiobooks, music & video for library, school & retail). It is a wonderful app that allows you to find and take out and read materials directly on your android device (no need to download to your computer first or do any kind of conversion). You can also place books on hold and you will be notified when they become available at the library.

Unfortunately it didn't work when I loaded it initially. I got errors when I tried to click on many options such as account log in. I downloaded Skyfire (Skyfire for Android | Skyfire) to see if it was a browser issue... now the application works like a charm!!

Happy reading!

Addendum: Overdrive supports Adobe EPUB formats and MP3 Audiobooks. Libraries use DRM EPUB and MP3 that allow you to use the materials for a certain amount of time (7 to 14 days).

Last edited:

pbrauer

Administrator
Staff member
Sep 24, 2010
Great writeup and recommendation. Can you tell us what formats are supported?

henry II

Feb 3, 2011