Help on Onda V712

vortgrenade4

Nov 14, 2012
Hi. I'm a real newbie regarding Android devices. I have an Onda v712 that I bought yesterday. I'm from iOS, I know some stuffs about it like how to jailbreak, restore, unlock etc. Going to Android, I'm a total starnger. So here are my questions that I hope get answered. >.<

1) Is there a root for this device? How? And what are the benefits of rooting?
2) Is my device already updated? I've been reading about updates in this forum about the facebook not working etc but can't figure out how to do it, And is it not the same with the check for updates on the settings? It says mine is updated, so it means mine is updated?
3) Can I update this to Jellybean? I've read on other sites that it comes with ICS but support Jellybean update, but like what I've said, I check the update on the settings and it says mine is updated
4)How to save downloaded games on the SD card instead on the internal mem.

Sorry for the questions, and I hope I get a step by step guide for a newbie like me. THANKS IN ADVANCE.

*Edited
So here are the answers I've gathered from this thread. Summarize all in one page. You can also read this thread for more additional information and you could ask if you have any questions.

Q: How to root my Onda V712?
A: 1) download the Root.zip file here http://www.inwtablet.com/Downloads/Tools/root.zip
2) Copy/drag+drop root.zip to your sd-card. Switch off the tablet. Boot to recovery mode and select- apply update from sdcard then select- root.zip when done reboot. After reboot you'll see Root Explorer and Super User app. It means you are rooted already. Enjoy!

Q: How to flash (update firmware) and root my Onda V712? Follow this guide also to remove ALL CHINESE APPS.
A: Follow this step by step guide here
http://www.androidtablets.net/forum/onda-tablet-forum/49264-onda-v701-ics-4-0-3-play-store-etc-walk-through.html

(Alternative way how to :