Hi everyone

emberto1946

Nov 4, 2012
Good day to one and all.

I am new to the forum and new to tablets, in fact I don't have one yet which is why I am here.

I am a retired engineer, reasonably computer literate, who is fortunate enough to have a Son who is extremely competent and gets me out of trouble regularly.

Why do I want a tablet? Well, now that I am an 'oldie' who has retired and has the time to do the things he didn't have time before, I can take more holidays.

A caravanner for over 30 years I have just come back from 4 weeks round France and Spain. Thoroughly good time but spolied by not being able to keep in touch with the kids and grandkids as easily as I would have liked. WiFi doesn't appear to be as common in Europe as it is here in the UK and carting a laptop around trying to find a signal got a bit tedious. Everyone else seemed to have a tablet, of some sort or other but mainly iPads.

I'm not an Apple fan so started looking around on the internet and WOW!!!, what a choice there is! So I thought "where can I get some help?", so here I am.

A couple of other factors pushed me down the tablet route. Firstly we ran out of reading material whilst we were away and second-hand bookshops in Spain don't have English books. Also my wife has quite a collection of Audio Books that she inherited. I put them onto CD's as MP3 files and she plays them on a 'ghetto blaster' type CD player (she doesn't like headphones so won't have an MP3 player.

So, a Kindle?? But that won't double as a laptop for me and will not play her MP3's. Many tablets don't have speakers. The only thing I have decided on is that it will have to be a 10" model because of my big clumsy fingers. My budget? Well, I'm a pensioner whose pension has been stolen by the government so around £150 tops and preferable nearer to £100.