intro: old to tech, new to android, especiall archos 101.

runescience

Aug 10, 2010
Hey:

Im new to the android community. I bought the archos 101 to be able to watch some episodes of chuck/burn notice/check email with out spending a fortune on a new laptop, check and answer email, browse.

I got mine from a friend who got his as a gift.

So now I have this THING that it is very unresponsive to typing. Im on a computer typing all day. This THING doesnt make me comfortable using. However, Im stuck with it. I bought it. I cant give it back so I figured Id make the most of it. Id like to type at LEAST at the speed which i type on my nokia nuron. I read something about changing the clock speed to 1000, but I must redo it each time I reboot.

I use it to read posts on forums. I hope to use it for VLC and netflix in the near future.

I have the market place hack, which doesnt give all the apps. I tried registering my account with appslib, but they want pre approval (WTF??) for 1000 purchases of up to 200 dollars each. So I went to paypal and I turned off preapproval, right after trying to register it.

I pulled down IMO which is a nice little chat client, and swiftkey demo which frustrated the *@#$ out of me, because it kept trying to type stuff I didnt want to. Im ditching that.

Id like to get my device all gussied up with apps, rooting etc. But, I dont know what to start with.

What is UrukDroid?
How do I speed up the typing, and not have to set the clock speed each time i boot?
Can you suggest other cool things to load up.
Hints to make operations faster, lighter?
Im a bit of a gamer (strategy and rp).
Maybe voice to type?
How about hardware keyboards for the archos 101.

Nice to meet you all,
Rune

gurgle

Super Moderator
Staff member
Aug 6, 2010
OK Welcome aboard. I have the A101/16 and have the following comments and suggestions to make your experience more enjoyable.
First off, REMEMBER THIS IS NOT A PC