Lyric App with Auto-Scroll for LIVE Musicians

dshipp78

Oct 28, 2011
Hey guys. I'm a live musician in my area (I play guitar and sing, do some live looping, etc.) One of the main reasons I bought my XOOM was for lyric solutions. I've searched far and wide and, so far, to no avail. I NEED an app that will allow me to copy and paste text from the internet (i.e. music lyrics) and also provide me with an acceptable auto-scroll function with at least 4 or 5 speeds. This is IMPERATIVE as my hands are quite otherwise occupied during a live set. A lyric database isn't necessary, just a text app with auto-scroll. I do have and highly recommend, by the way, the GuitarTapp app and I love it. It has all the features I mentioned before, but it focuses on tablature rather than lyrics. Can anyone help? I know I CAN'T be the ONLY musician out there who's clammering for this, seemingly simple to design, app. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated!

rnshagam

Dec 6, 2011
Sounds like you want a (ugh) Karioke App. A quick google brought up possibly a few possibilities, but I didn't look further. Obviously, you want to sing AND play, not pretend to sing while some band-in-a-box plays ;-)

Spider

Administrator
Staff member
Mar 24, 2011
Maybe not so simple. If I understand what you're after, you want something to turn the pages of your music automatically. Wouldn't that app or whatever have to change speeds when slower and faster parts of a song came up? Otherwise it could be a page ahead or behind you.

midiot

Dec 10, 2011
if you're using MIDI files, seems like you could use MIDI to trigger/pace your text scrolling

coolzero

Dec 12, 2011