Micro SD Confusion for New Tablets

JPW1

Oct 16, 2012
Android Tablet Newbie here. I just purchased a Lenovo A2109 Android tablet at Best Buy. For the price I think it is great. It is quick thanks to the processor, which I like. The only issue I have with it is the screen, it could certainly be better. Anyway, another perk I found from the device that I wasn't initially aware is that it has a Micro SD slot. I like this option to put HD movies on it for playback while I'm on a flight. So I purchase a Class 10, 32 gig Micro SD card. I formatted it to NTFS and the tablet doesn't see it? I then formatted it to FAT and it was able to mount it just fine. I tried EXFAT as well, but no joy there either. FAT would really be OK if it weren't for the 4 gig file limit. Some of my HD movies are 10 gig. So my questioin is, I'm I just out of options? Has anyone seen this type of issue before and perhaps found a workaround? Any help is appreciated.

leeshor

Dec 27, 2011
Welcome to the forum

First let me say that a 10GB file for a tablet is overkill. Maybe ion a 55" screen. Now that I have that out of the way;) I don't know why your tablet couldn't see an NTFS formatted SD card. It certainly should have been able to see it. Did you go to storage in settings and try mounting it?

JPW1

Oct 16, 2012
Welcome to the forum

First let me say that a 10GB file for a tablet is overkill. Maybe ion a 55" screen. Now that I have that out of the way;) I don't know why your tablet couldn't see an NTFS formatted SD card. It certainly should have been able to see it. Did you go to storage in settings and try mounting it?

I understand. I just already have the files on my media server.

I did see the option to mount the card in my storage settings, but when I click on it nothing happens. When I format the card back to FAT I don't even need to mount it. It simply sees it and the space can be accessed. Any thoughts?

leeshor

Dec 27, 2011