Mr. Old School Got an Android Tablet

tlc1976

Oct 12, 2013
Hello. I'm new here. So a little about me, I live in the sticks of northwest lower Michigan. All I can get here is dialup or satellite which is very expensive so I keep the dialup. I run a desktop with Win2k. My cell is a basic Tracfone that I barely use. I drive 20+ year old cars, still use big dish TV, etc.... Most of my money goes to my kid's mom, I'm sure some of you can relate. I'm an engineer with a degree and was good with computers at one time but this new tech has passed me by.

So anyway I won this 7" Android tablet at a work party. Digix TAB-730. I've completed Angry Birds. And have taken it with me on the road to surf public sites at restaurants. I'd like to do more with it but have a couple basic questions first.

1. I'd like to connect it to my computer to transfer MP3s and then use it as a portable music player. My computer says it needs a driver. I emailed Digix and they said it should work on 2k the same as XP. So I tried downloading the USB driver from their site listed with this tablet and it doesn't say it's the right one.

2. I'd like to do more with it on the road, but I am very leery of hackers. I've already had my bank account broken into a few years ago, and I knew someone who had her droid hacked in January. So before I do anything on this tablet that requires input of any personal information, I want to take some steps to secure it.

I'm totally new at this, I don't know much about wireless networks or what it means to root an android or really much of anything here. So if there is a good place to read up on some of the basics, I'd appreciate it. Thanks.

leeb

Jul 16, 2011
The subject of rooting may be a bit early in the game, but there is a good chance it is rooted already...
Install Terminal Emulator and once running, type 'su'.
If it changes the prompt or otherwise doesn't whine and complain then it already has it.
:D

EDIT: