New here and in need of HELP with my new ASUS TF700 tablet ...

TF700

Oct 6, 2012
Good afternoon everyone ! :)

Well, after much searching and trying different tablets, I finally opted for this splendid ASUS TF700 (Infinity) tablet just today.
The unit is presently charging (100% for the tablet and 80% now for the docking station) ...

And of course, I have several questions which I hope will be answered here.
Sorry, but I am REALLY new at this and very confused as well. :confused:

I will be using this tablet especially for writing my books and storing some photos - from my PC to the tablet and vice versa. I am presently using an old Word 2003 software but it ha served its purpose very well over the years and I am not upgrading anytime soon to the new version.

The questions:

1. Should I try to connect this tablet to the PC (Internet) via USB in order to get "updates" ?
2. Is this necessary? The tablet is running Android Ice Cream Sandwich (4.0).
3. If yes, how is this done? Would I need some special software in order to connect for that?

4. (Android related): Where do I find a COMPLETE set of instructions - possibly with visual aids - to explain on how to properly use the Android system of the tablet?
I am having a tough time to even move a file from one section of the tablet to another, for example: move a text document (I made a test document already and it is now stored in the "Gestionnaire de documents" (French, that thing is ... !) and I would like to be able to move it right at the very first page when the unit is turned on. So I don't have to dig in deep to retrieve it.

5. How to I temporarily remove/disable the main screen "Weather forecasts" (I thing that is what that is - showing the temperature, etc ...) and other such notifications, such as the thing showing " 0 emails ".
Those are on the main screen when I turn the unit on.
I have not yet connected a router here, so nothing is ready for WiFi ---Internet connection. It will soon be done though.