Newbie needs help with Coby MID7015 from the pros

purpleroses

Mar 4, 2011
Hey! Another newbie here to this forum and all forums. Appreciate your patience. I am not at all familiar with Android OS (familiar with only Windows). I have a used MID 7015 (without the "A") and had tried to root. Could not unzip the update file I had installed on the mini SD. Previously installed were apps were Term Emulator and Superuser. I downloaded z4root plus AndExplorer; they did not install to the SD card but rather to the nand memory. Need help with that - installing to SD card from browser on Kyros. My big question is if I remove the programs I downloaded and do a factory reset, will there be any residual that would prevent the update file from unzipping? Thanks​

cableguy520

Feb 24, 2011
I had to do a factory reset during my 1st root attempt of my Kyros. Although I didn't have my files on the nand. I didn't have any further issues after repeating the process a 2nd time.
I do recall reading a post where someone did install the files to the internal memory and was able to still get it rooted, just had to look there instead of the sd card. I believe it was able in stickies. Best of luck!

Sent from my S7 using Android Tablet Forum App

purpleroses

Mar 4, 2011
Thanks for the info Cableguy520! I had read a coupla threads where doing a factory reset had made the tablet run slower or lose the keyboard, et al. I would be at a total loss if the tablet "crashed". Well...here goes!

Joey1320

Nov 26, 2010
Check youtube, there's a great video on how to root the Kyros.

Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App

fxdominicano

Feb 4, 2011
First of all see the video from Coby of how to update the firmware of your Kyros and do it, after that you root it

Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App

purpleroses

Mar 4, 2011