Onda Vi40 with 4.0 ICS

iJohn

Feb 17, 2012
Greetings, I'm a noob to Android tablets, and need help before laying out cash on a new tablet

I have done some searching on Chinese sites for Android tablets and have found one which I really like the specs. It is the following tablet by Onga:

[h=1]Onda Vi40 9.7 Inch Android 4.0 Tablet PC IPS Capacitive Touch Screen Allwinner A10 1.5GHz 1GB/16GB Quad Full HD 2160P Decoding Wifi Two Cameras[/h]
Now, my questions.

1. I understand Android ICS 4.0 does not have the Android store on it - is this correct ? How do I get apps ? and more importantly, can I upgrade the software to newer 4.03 which might give me access to the Android store ? Are Android tablets like iPads - everytime a new version of software comes out, you just do an easy update...or will I be stuck with 4.0 ICS ?

2. Does anyone know if this Chinese tab will arrive in English, or will I be left with a doorstop all written in Chinese ?

3. Would I be better off looking for a tab different tab with Android Honeycomb on ? or do you think I must get the latest 4.0 ICS ?

4. Anyone with experience on the above tab ? good or bad ?

Many thanks

John

arntfoel

Oct 11, 2011
Mine had 4.0.1, easily upgraded to 4.0.3 from Onda homesite. The chinese marked works well, but I downloaded a market fix and got the real android market and google account. All languages included, I use norwegian. The best tab I have tried , battery time and screen is really ok.

lokiyo

Feb 23, 2012
Mine had 4.0.1, easily upgraded to 4.0.3 from Onda homesite. The chinese marked works well, but I downloaded a market fix and got the real android market and google account. All languages included, I use norwegian. The best tab I have tried , battery time and screen is really ok.

Hey! What's the Onda Website? The one I've found is the one for Onda Mobile Communications, it's an Italian manufacturer, but it's not the one that makes the Onda Vi40! I'll be so glad if you can tell me!

arntfoel