[PRJ] Updating Telechips kernel to 2.6.35

l_n

Dec 28, 2010
I've just started, but I wanted to let anybody interested know that I'm attempting to manually apply the Telechips edits to the Android kernel and WebKit sources to update the Kyros to FroYo.

If anyone wants to help with testing, I'll post images when I have them. I'll risk my own device first, though. I do know that fastboot works on this device, so as long as I have the nandroid backup img's, I *should* be able to un-brick my tablet (I've already had to do this once (I hosed recovery and boot with bad img's)).

Maybe this will fix some other issues we've been having...

billquinn1

Dec 16, 2010
I am debating trying the Telechips team / Cyanogen rom already out there. If you come up with an optimized kernel for our device, I would be happy to test. I have tons of experience on my G1 phone but I am not a programmer. I have already rooted and installed market and have adb working through linux (windows is just to frustrating to set up). Let me know when you have something you need checked and I'll nandroid and give it a try.
I do have a quick question while I am here. Does the /nand partition get wiped by any of the wipe options in clockwork and do I need to be backing it up?

l_n

Dec 28, 2010
no.. on the coby, /nand takes the place of /sdcard for apps. (i.e. on my DroidX, some apps write to /sdcard/data/com.foo.bar/*, on the coby, they write to /nand/.../.../)

as far as the porting goes, i'm hand-editing the 2.6.35 source to add the telechips stuff. it seems i'll have to adapt some of it, too. (damn those upstream changes....)

once the kernel editing is done, i'll run a diff of the 2.1 webkit vs. the coby webkit and then add those to the 2.2 webkit as necessary.

after all of that comes the fixing of compile-time breakage. so much fun....

billquinn1

Dec 16, 2010