Problems with Market

Feb 28, 2011
Hello I am very new to the Android world. I received a Generic 8 in tablet with android 2.2 for my birthday last weekend. When I go to the market - as I scroll through the apps there are hundreds of apps that are in Chinese or Mandarin and only a few in English. This tablet came directly from Hong Kong and I was wondering if there is a regional setting or something I could change because I have been checking the blogs and forums and no one else seems to be having this problem. I have contacted the retail vendor and they said they would have to contact the distributor and that could take a long time. I want to start installing apps but I cannot find hardly any in English.

Please help..

feverhost

Super Moderator
Staff member
Nov 26, 2010
JayDogBigDaddy: Are you sure it's the official Google Marketplace? Quite a lot of times vendors put their own market, or other lesser known markets on tablets. Do you know the manufacturer of your tablet? That might help to see if you can get the official marketplace. If you cannot I recommend that you use these popular alternatives:

The SlideMe Market
SlideMe is an alternative market that has been around since 2007. It hosts 1,000’s of apps, that are able to be download via their own app that you can download through their website, or by directly downloading and installing their own APK (which I’ll explain at the end of this article). This is a unique market as it not only has popular apps, it also focuses on lesser known, and independent developers. Therefore you get access the biggest and badest apps, plus access to very good lesser known apps.

GetJar