Question about power charging TF300

zollen

Mar 16, 2012
I am a new owner of Transformer TF300. I admit I am completely new to tablet. The TF300 comes with a USB power cable and a power charger. Can I simply plug the USB power cable to my computer USB drive for charging my tablet?

Spider

Administrator
Staff member
Mar 24, 2011
The output Amperage of a USB port is generally too low to charge a tablet. If it works at all, it'll charge much more slowly than the charger that came with your tablet.

J

jimbo7630

A U.S. Company called Griffin manufacture Domestic Voltage adapters which include USB sockets, they're not the cheapest but they are excellent as additional chargig alternatives.

MA83

Feb 25, 2012
Unforunately no. Asus tablets run off of 15V DC and a usb port only outputs 5V. The tab will recognize the fact that it is plugged in to a computer so you cna sink, but it won't actually draw power. In fact, if you try charging it with your typical phone charger it won't even recognize that it's plugged in.

sark666

May 17, 2012
Hmm, lots of tablets don't charge over usb but it's not because of the power draw. Others can charge over usb albeit slowly. My nook color uses usb for it's charger cable (takes about 2 1/2 - 3 hrs) but a regular usb will trickle charge in about 8 hrs. Most reivew don't mention this, but this is a big requirement for me while travelling. I want my device to charge over usb and not worry about adapters cables.

Searching asus I see this:

Could TF101 be charged via USB?

Yes, TF101 can be charged via the USB port on the computer only when it is in sleep mode (Screen off) or powered off (this way might take longer time to complete)
If the computer does not provide enough power for charging Eee Pad, please use the adapter instead.

from: ASUSTeK Computer Inc. -Support- FAQ Eee Pad Transformer TF101