[ROM] WM8650_Android2.2_1.1.1_20110404 NL (root/boost/fix/expanded)

les.classic

Mar 31, 2011
Sorry for the double post, but from what I can tell z4root is supposed to reboot the tablet after you permanent root it. For some reason, mine says it's rooted, but when I restart it says it isn't again...

I thought this process would be much more simple, I don't know where to go from here.

nikosg

Apr 19, 2011
hello i am from greece i have (wonder media wm 8650) android 2.2 and i im trying to connect to android market greece ,but i cαnt to do this Connect by default to china android market

mrmox

Oct 29, 2011
summary: you are executing the su that is in busybox and that is NOT the su we need to execute!

I'm sorry guys, I'm new to this and could really use some help.

I have a 7inch wm8650 tablet and I'm trying to root it and install this rom.

I've tried to root the tablet via z4root and Universal Androot, but when I type in su in the terminal emulator, it tells me "must be suid to work properly".

Is there an essential step I'm missing? I really would appreciate any help that could be given.

I also was stuck at this step but I am still using the firmware that came with my WM8650 MID originally.

My years of experience with unix (which came before linux) led me to suspect that in Terminal Emulator
when I typed su I was getting the su in Busybox which might be different from the su I really wanted
to run (I further suspect that the busybox su checks if it is running as root before it trys to change
to root which is crazy isn't it?). Indeed I found another su, and when I got it to execute I got the
# prompt that proves I have root:

$ export PATH=/data/local/bin:$PATH
$ which su
/bin/su
$ cd system
$ cd bin
$ ls -lt su
-rwsr-sr-x 1 root 10036 26264 Oct 29 16:21 su

$ su
su: must be suid to work properly
$ pwd
/system/bin
$ ./su
# whoami
root
#

I will give details of the above commands as best as I understand (probably too pedantic for