[SOLVED] Can I make my Freelander SXZ-PH20 any faster?

Turbo2Tone

Jan 26, 2015
Hey,

I'm new to these forums. I did a search however I could not find a specific answer on my question so I hope you guys can help me. I had the Galaxy S2, S3 and S4 so I'm quite familiar with android.

I received a Freelander SXZ-PH20 for free. I never had a tablet before and I was quite happy to get something even if it's 7". However this tablet appears really slow, so slow I expect I wont use it a lot.

A little background; I have no experience with rooting, flashing whatever terms are used with phones and tablets. However since I know my way around computers I am willing to learn. Is there a way to speed up the software? I know the hardware is not candy but perhaps software wise there are possibilities.

Specs:
- Android 4.2.2
- Singe core AllWinner A13 SoC (CPU Cortex-A8 1.2GHz and GPU Mali-400)
- Memory 512MB DDr3 SDRAM
- 7" capacitive screen (5 points) 800x480 resolution

Some background:

- new tablet, so new installation
- I have 750MB free of storage free
- I have tried turning it off and on
- There are not trillion apps open

Specific questions:
1. Is overclocking an option?
2. Can I replace the original OS for something faster?
3. Are there any other ways of speeding up the tablet (even if it's a proper memory maintaining app)

Usage:
- Youtube
- Splashtop
- Notepad
- Browsing (which is really slow atm)
- I kinda hoped to play Heartstone: Heroes of Warcraft however Google Playstore says my device is not supported (sadface).

I hope I provided all the info for the help. Thank you in advanced.
PS: I am not expecting complete tutorials as answers but let's say rooting is an option, can you perhaps point me in the right way to learn that?

EDIT: I did disable the animations in developer options, it helps a bit.
[TBODY] [/TBODY]

Last edited:

leeshor

Dec 27, 2011
Welcome to the forum