Some help please. Total newbie in need of wise council.

Nov 9, 2011
Greetings and salutations.

Until recently I viewed tablet computers are just toys for people who grew up watching star trek: The next generation and wanted to have their own PADD, like on the show.

Recently it came to me that a fair number of people I respected and liked were getting into the tablet craze, so I gave it another look.

Shortly thereafter I got a little love letter form god in the form of a chance to grab a HO touchpad for 100$, damn near spanking new, in the box with a case for 100$.

I have determined that a tablet is more than a toy for star trek fans, and admit my initial impression was in error.

I am amazed at the ability and quality of my touchpad, but have become aware of it's limits, such as limited software, little prospect for future support, no expandable memory, can't seem to hook it to a usb drive, etc.

I have considered getting an android tablet for christmas but am uncertain what to get. I have questions, issues and constraints I seek advice on and hope some experienced android tablet owners here will deign to share their wisdom with me.

First I would like a tablet that has a 10 or so inch screen with 1020x600 or so resolution. I've used my touchpad to view tutorial videos for 3d modelling software and need good res and a large screen.

I've been told a capacitive screen is the way to go, and since my touchpad has one and it works well I agree.

I would like one that you can add memory too, in the form of a micro/sd card and that has ports to plug USB drives into for file moving, and can work when linked to a computer. (My touchpad will let you link it to a desktop but esentially goes dormant during the link and you must move files on the PC screen.)