Tab3 7.0 Not Charging

luizsalomon

Oct 8, 2013
Hello there.
I own a Tab3 7.0, model SM-T210R, 8GB, Android 4.1.2.
Yesterday I tried using it and it didn't turn on. Dead battery. So I plugged in the charger to re-charge the battery.
But, I noticed it wasn't charging. Since I have some other hundred of other chargers (and an extra original Samsung Tab3) and cables, I tried the obvious. No success with any of them.
I tried the charger on my other Tab3 and it worked OK. I tried the charger and cables on my phone, and it was OK.
So, I went to the internet for some information and found only people talking about charger and cables and restoring the factory settings. Nothing really useful.
I found one thread that said to use the computer's USB port. I am an electrical engineer and that answer, for me, was the most outminded one.
Theoretically, it really doesn't matter if you are using a wall charger or a USB port. The current output of a USB is limited to 500mA (as with a wall charger). So, if the battery of the tab (or any other device) is really discharged, it couldn't even draw more current, causing the USB port to shutdown. A low current charger would only charge the battery more slowly. Saying that, in my personal, technical, wise, all-of-the-above experience, that would be my last choice of power supply.
I don't believe in witches, but they do exist; and, since nothing else worked and it was late at night, I plugged the Tab to the computer's USB port and let it lie there overnight. What harm could happen???
For my surprise (and to remind me that I know less each day), the tab display showed the battery icon half full.
At this point I could turn on the device.
I also plugged in the wall charger, but the battery still wasn't charging, and no indication of a charger being plugged. I plugged back the cable attached to the computer's USB port, but no charge indication.