Trying to find a tablet for notes

graymorality

Jul 16, 2012
I am a college student and I was hoping to get a tablet that I could use to hold my digital books and essentially replace most of the things in my backpack. The main thing I need is the ability to use a stylus to take notes on (these include math notes with complex symbols and pictures). I'm trying to find the least expensive option for this as I don't need it to play games or anything, just as place to take notes and store them more efficiently than with seperate binders for each class

J515OP

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2011
You might want to look at the Samsung Galaxy Note. You can use it as an everything device, phone, tablet and note pad. Unfortunately most tablets don't support advanced note taking very well, particularly inexpensive ones. There are very few options for a good stylus input based tablet (most are capacitive and not good for writing) and finding a good capacitive stylus will also be important.

This is where a good app might make or break the experience so maybe you can get some recommendations for note taking apps. At that point you will have to decide on the size of tablet you want. Full size 10" are going to be more expensive so you will probably have to give up something (performance, name brand, etc.) to get one cheaply. Smaller 7" tablets are hitting good price points but you obviously will be giving up screen size.

userbe1155

Nov 8, 2011
I am a college student and I was hoping to get a tablet that I could use to hold my digital books and essentially replace most of the things in my backpack. The main thing I need is the ability to use a stylus to take notes on (these include math notes with complex symbols and pictures). I'm trying to find the least expensive option for this as I don't need it to play games or anything, just as place to take notes and store them more efficiently than with seperate binders for each class