External keyboard problems

Discussion in 'Android Tablet Discussions' started by bluemonkey, Feb 27, 2012.

  1. bluemonkey

    bluemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Hi everyone. Sorry for posting nothing but problems and questions! Got a Prime paired up with an Amazon Basics keyboard, but...

    1. rrrrrepeating keys. Only seems to occur on a few apps, like Chrome. Driving me nuts.
    2. macrons. Can I make them? Specifically: ā, ī, ū, ē, ō. I have no idea how.

    Thanks so much. It's been a little bit difficult to adjust, and there are so many things I like, but these two are (sadly) deal-breakers for me. The first one is infuriating. The second one has to do with work.
     
  2. bluemonkey

    bluemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    :(
    No ideas?
     
  3. jimbo7630

    jimbo7630 Guest

    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2012
  4. bluemonkey

    bluemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Hi. Thank you. They are just vowels with lines above them. Perhaps they didn't render correctly with your encoding. Sorry about that. One of the problems is that the macron is not part of any language keyboard, as far as I can tell.

    On Android (most keyboards I know of) and the iPad virtual keyboard, holding down on a vowel will generate a list of options. If I were typing with the virtual keyboard, this would be the way to go, of course. On the iPad, they only become available when using US Extended keyboard. And, on OSX you can generate them with Alt + a. In Windows, as far as I know, you can only generate them in Word as special characters (it helps to set up shortcut keys).
     
  5. jimbo7630

    jimbo7630 Guest

    The reason I didn't recognise them is because I see a vowel with a line above it! BTW in windows if you change the language setting you can type any foreign character in your chosen language if you know its position on your english K/B e.g. whin I'm using German the following keystrokes will give me what I need [ = ü, ; = ö and ' = ä also - gives ß when my language is set to German.
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Feb 28, 2012
  6. bluemonkey

    bluemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    LOL. I see. The characters are needed for my work, but they are not widely used. I think I just got lucky with Apple's support for the external keyboard. Of course, different language keyboards produce things like umlauts, but the problem I have is that the straight horizontal lines don't exist in any language set I know of, so I am out of luck in Windows.
     
  7. jimbo7630

    jimbo7630 Guest

  8. bluemonkey

    bluemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Thanks for the link. I actually did not know they were called "Latin" long marks. After much experimentation with MultiLing and "Latine", I still cannot get the external keyboard to accomplish this. So close, yet so far. The virtual keyboard has all of my vowels displayed right there, ready to go, but somehow the external keyboard always types the same stuff.
     
  9. jimbo7630

    jimbo7630 Guest

  10. bluemonkey

    bluemonkey Member

    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2012
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    LOL. That is brilliant. Thanks for the suggestion :)

    My problem is that I spend most of my day reading and writing, and looking forward, instead of down, at the screen is much more comfortable over long periods. I am pretty fast with the external keyboard (touch typing), so it is my preferred method of input.
     
  11. jimbo7630

    jimbo7630 Guest

    I can't see any way out of this unless you can create some customised vowels and a way of accessing them on your K/B:cool:
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

android how to have virtual keyboard and external at the same time

,
android m8s external keyboard problem
,
how to use external keyboard with android tablet
,
m8s keyboard problem