Flakey wifi/lan/gps

Discussion in 'Gome Flytouch II Firmware' started by ebod, Sep 3, 2012.

  1. ebod

    ebod Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Manchester
    Tablet / Device:
    Super Pad
    Hi, I've posted on this topic before but never got anywhere.

    I'd dearly love to dust down this lame-pad and make some use of it. My Galaxy S3 certainly makes it look like a museum piece LOL.

    Seriously though, I could put up with its slowness, just wish it didn't have such a an intermittant wifi/lan connection ( and GPS without antenna is impossible ).

    Does anybody know any improvements/fixes to stop wifi dropouts? Its like there is a buffer problem and the wifi drops when it can't cope with too much.

    Thx
     
  2. leeshor

    leeshor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    700
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
    I have a link re: the WiFi issues, that has solved those problems for most people. See below.

    Not certain about the GPS.
     
  3. ebod

    ebod Member

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2011
    Messages:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Manchester
    Tablet / Device:
    Super Pad
    I'm using fixed IP & WPA/2 etc. Its not the actual connection, its the fact the data kinda cloggs up. I can run web/download apps for a 2 minute period then it just hangs :-(
     
  4. leeshor

    leeshor Senior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 27, 2011
    Messages:
    6,331
    Likes Received:
    1,037
    Trophy Points:
    700
    Location:
    Norcross, GA
    Tablet / Device:
    Samsung Galaxy Tab S 10.5
    I say it's your router. You might want to check for a firmware update for the router. You can also go to a public hotspot to see if the problem persists. I have seen people fight for months with the same problems and a new router made all the difference. But you need to test elsewhere first.
     
  5. leeb

    leeb Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2011
    Messages:
    463
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Well, Im sorry to tell you that, in the matter of the GPS, it is not DESIGNED to work without the external antenna... That's why they supply it.

    I HAVE considered trying to remove the passive receiver from the plastic 'end' and see if it could fit inside the tablet case... and if I end up doing it, Ill post results.

    I agree that its the router or the channel it is using...
     

Share This Page