GPS issues. Does not seem to work. Android newcomer.

Discussion in 'Gome Flytouch II' started by nolij, Mar 16, 2011.

  1. nolij

    nolij Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch 2
    hello all, im a newcomer to the android scene and recently got the FlyTouch 2 pad. I ordered off ebay and it came with the leatherish carrying case with built in keyboard, stylus, headphones and gps antenna unit. checking the system it had the 1480 version installed.

    I could not get the gps to work. read a few forums and tried various things but still wont work. satellites will not pick up. i then updated it to the 1623 software. gps still does not work. i tried the copilot upload i found at an android forum, i went to th market and downloaded mapdroyd and aura. none seem to work for me. the my location thing sends my location to china. read a forum on disabling something, i forgot what, but it did not fix the problem.

    then i came across this
    GPS and battery problems - Flytouch 2 & 3 - MID/Tablet PC - Pandawill Forum Powered by our member! - Powered by Discuz!

    i hope thats not true.

    if you need more info ask, im very new to android. im a pc tech but android newbie. thanks for any help i may get.
     
  2. nolij

    nolij Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch 2
    wow no help?
     
  3. Campaman

    Campaman Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2011
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Hi

    This may be a stupid comment, but I assume that you have either gone outside or put the end of the gps antenna outside as it needs to see the sky to work
     
  4. zittergie

    zittergie Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    57
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Belgium
    Tablet / Device:
    Waiting for my Haipad M701R
    Hi,

    A friend of mine bought a flytouch II at pandawill. There was a GPS antenna include, but inside the flytouch II there was/is no gps receiver (the antenna input is not connected to anything).
    If you have the same, I guess you are out of luck.
     
  5. nolij

    nolij Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch 2
    Yes I seen that one from panwill. Thinking bout open mine to see for myelf. Gmail gps icon hire blinking Android com google maps hire locks but sets gmail location to china. Yes I was outside for hlf Android hour

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
     
  6. sarulezzz

    sarulezzz Member

    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Hi, you'd rather try "GPS test" application from market. If it doesn't find any satellites, you most likely don't have GPS.

    I also have such a tablet without GPS.
     
  7. nolij

    nolij Member

    Joined:
    Mar 16, 2011
    Messages:
    14
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    IL
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch 2
    thanks for all the help everyone. so if that app doesnt find anything, i should just return it huh? whats the point in paying for something that has gps equipment but doesnt have gps? damn ebay sellers. funny part of it is the guy is listed as a USA seller in WI, im in IL. seems he just ordered it from china cause i received it from china, not WI.
     
  8. Diskus

    Diskus Member

    Joined:
    Mar 8, 2011
    Messages:
    32
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Korea
    Tablet / Device:
    eken m009, gpad g10
    one of my friends sell tablets. He often gets touch with some Chinese sellers who sell tablets in shenzhen. I heard the story about this flytouch 2. The GPS on it couldn't work at all even if almost all the sellers claim it supports the GPS function. So just return it to the ebay seller.
     
  9. Screentime

    Screentime Member

    Joined:
    May 17, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Maryland
    Just a thought, have you turned on the GPS function under settings?

    Dan
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

android gps not working

,
chinese tablet gps not working
,
ebay gps
,

gps issue in china tablet

,
gps not working on chinese tablet
,
what is cause of my tablet gps not working