having problems playing some videos on the a500 tablet

alinam

Feb 1, 2012
good evening need to know if anyone has the same problem i have. bought an iconia a500 in september. main reason was to play flash videos from the Artistnetwork.TV as I am an artist and member. it worked fine at first, within one month I could only play the first 3 videos including the demo, but not the rest, you can hear the voices but there is only a gray box. spoke to Acer, after trying to reset it several times with their instructions, i was told there was a system failure, took it back to Best Buy, they sent it to the Geek Squat, they replace it with a new one. Again, everything was fine for about 1 month, then same thing happened. I just took it back yesterday, they sent it on its merry way to the Geek Squat. I can play youTube videos without any problems, yet, the ones from the Artistnetwork.TV have the issues. They supposely are flash 9.1. Has anyone run into this type of problem? i am going bananas here... thank you all

Icebike

Apr 28, 2011
Sad.

People, NEVER listen to what tech support says.
These people are idiots, reading from scripts. They were flipping burgers last week.

Its a shame they had to send you thru all of that trouble rather than just tell you that
the site was made for desktop machines, and the encoding they use is pretty non-standard.
It seems to be some windows based content delivered via Flash.

More than likely Artistsnetwork.TV changed the encoding of their videos since the time they worked well.
Not being a member, I can only watch the pre-views. Some work, some don't.

Adobe Flash is a transport mechanism. The media transported within it can be any
number of different formats, using various types of encoding. They chose an encoding
that does not work well on Android. You might ***** to them, and see if they have
an alternative source.

Nothing wrong with your Acer, but this site was not designed for it.

Last edited:

dosma

Nov 8, 2011