How to root

Discussion in 'Gome Flytouch II' started by black_valkyrie, Jan 11, 2011.

  1. black_valkyrie
    Offline

    black_valkyrie Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Howdy... looking for any info on how to root the flytouch 2... I just ran into the Android lack of ad hoc wireless support issue and I'd like to modify the tablet to see ad hoc networks. Any advice on how to root the tablet so I can run barnacle or a different fix so the tablet can see ad hoc would be great thx.
  2. black_valkyrie
    Offline

    black_valkyrie Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Half my problem is solved...

    Downloaded z4root by RyanZA from this link:
    You need to register a free account to direct download from this: xda-developers
    Or just this z4root 1.3 download from multiupload

    Donate to the dev RyanZA here: Paypal Link


    Installed it via App Installer (marketplace, free) ... ran it - granted root access, it installs busybox as well. Superuser access appears on main screen.

    FYI Infotmic Flytouch2 w/ build 2.1.1170


    Still need to figure out how to make Adhoc visible... anyone care to assist please?
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 24, 2011
  3. thymox
    Offline

    thymox Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Plymouth, GB
    Tablet / Device:
    10" Infotmic
    Ok, so I am considering applying the update that is doing the rounds at the moment... but if it unroots a rooted device then I will kinda need to know how to reroot it to get back to its rooted goodness.

    (I really did try to get a few more "roots" into that sentence, but I couldn't)

    I am the (not quite so) proud owner of a Palm Pre phone which needs no rooting - if you know what you're doing you can get root access to the device without having to mess about. So the whole "rooting" process is quite new to me.

    Any guidance?

    Cheers.
    Grant. :)
  4. black_valkyrie
    Offline

    black_valkyrie Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 10, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    3
    See my topic in the flytouch2 section
  5. cha_indian
    Offline

    cha_indian Junior Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2010
    Messages:
    22
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    India
    Tablet / Device:
    ePad (WowPad)
    What is rooting ?? How is it useful to upate my flytouch 2 ??

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
  6. pbrauer
    Offline

    pbrauer Administrator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2010
    Messages:
    3,651
    Likes Received:
    556
    Trophy Points:
    113
    Location:
    Edina, MN USA
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC Thunderbolt, ViewSonic GTab, Huawei S7, Gentouch 78
  7. thymox
    Offline

    thymox Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2011
    Messages:
    26
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    3
    Location:
    Plymouth, GB
    Tablet / Device:
    10" Infotmic
    Would it be the same procedure for rooting a device that isn't a FlyTouch2?
  8. qonyx
    Offline

    qonyx Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney
    Tablet / Device:
    Gome Flytouch 2
    anyone able to help on this... z4root is no longer available in market - which is how another poster recommended we remove wow home
  9. qonyx
    Offline

    qonyx Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 21, 2011
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Sydney
    Tablet / Device:
    Gome Flytouch 2
  10. qpr1991
    Offline

    qpr1991 Junior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    3
    How to root your flytouch 2



    Now many of you are wondering what dose this mean and why do i need to do it. Well when you root your device it allows you to edit the system files so you can go on to make your device even better then it is and you can preform little tweaks. This will also allow you to run titanium backup to back up all you apps before you update.

    Step 1: Download z4root Download

    Step 2: Once you have downloaded place the .apk file onto your memory stick or micro sd card.

    Step 3: Now plug your sd card or memory stick into your flytouch 2 and open it with you file manager (wowfilemanager) now click the .apk file and install it.

    Step 4: Go to you app list (start button) and click z4 root you will be promoted with 2 options tempory root and permanent root, just go ahead and click permanent root to save us doing this again.

    Step 5: Restart your device and it is now rotted and you can run titanium backup and root explorer


    Now below is a selection of apps you can download and install that allow you to use this feature.

    Titanium Backup
    Back up all your apps and settings on your flytouch 2

    Root Explorer
    Edit them system files you cannot access.

    Boot Animation Changer
    Change the way your boot looks. (this only changes the animation after the wowpad green screen)

    More coming soon
    Last edited by a moderator: Jan 24, 2011
  11. QuietFire
    Offline

    QuietFire Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2011
    Messages:
    33
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    Location:
    Asheville, NC
    Tablet / Device:
    Dell D-400, Asus eeePC900 series and many others... no tab yet
    Any idea if this will work on the Flytouch 2 512mb variant falsely named as the Flytouch 3?

    And just out of curiosity, did the ad hoc issue get resolved with 2.2? This seems to be the way the WiFi access point on my phone works. It would really be a bummer to have to deal with it as soon as that "Slow Boat From...." finally gets here.
  12. sinistersnipe
    Offline

    sinistersnipe Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2011
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    3
    So far I couldnt get z4root to work on my "flytouch 3". UniversalAndroot doesnt work either, "fu goo" error message. :(
  13. probbiethe1
    Offline

    probbiethe1 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jun 30, 2010
    Messages:
    1,841
    Likes Received:
    139
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Gilbert, Arizona
    z4 wont work on the new varient because you need to be able to turn usb debbuging on and from what i can tell that option isnt offered. But if it is there please someone let me know. also the ad hoc issue with android not connecting to ad hoc isnt fixed
  14. npantos
    Offline

    npantos Junior Member

    Joined:
    Mar 14, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    I have same problem. I don't have usb debbuging :(
  15. Biotic
    Offline

    Biotic Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Jan 23, 2011
    Messages:
    529
    Likes Received:
    50
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Pennsylvania
    Tablet / Device:
    HTC ONE, Droid Razr, Galaxy Tab3, LexiBOOK
    Its probably hidden like it is on our new firmware for our ftiis

    On a new launcher like launcher pro or zeam. When u hold on the desktop and get the option add shortcuts. Go to activities and drop down till u see development and create the shortcut. And itl take u to the debugging section.

    I'm not sure if this is available on your flytouch 2 generation 2 devices. But its worth a shot.

    Sent from my sdk using Android Tablet Forum App
  16. jamezx
    Offline

    jamezx Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Bulgaria
    Tablet / Device:
    Superpad Fly Touch III
    I have Superpad Fly Touch III and have the same problem with z4root, because there is no USB debugging mode to switch on, as asked this software.
    Any ideas?
  17. SmaRkieS
    Offline

    SmaRkieS Junior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 15, 2011
    Messages:
    92
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    8
    Location:
    Cebu City Philippines
    Tablet / Device:
    SuperPad 10.2
    1. Download Launcher Pro.
    2. Install Launcher Pro.
    3. Tap the Home Button at the upper left, it will let you choose different type of launchers.
    4. Select Launcher Pro.
    5. Tap Menu Button = or at press the menu button at the top of your tablet.
    6. Tap the + add
    7. Tap Shortcuts
    8. Scroll Down, and Tap the Activities.
    9. Wait it will load, scroll down to Settings.
    10. Scroll down and look for Development.
    11. Press OK without changing the name.
    12. On Desktop/Home Tap Development.
    13. Check the USB Debugging.
    14. Restart if necessary.
    15. And your done ready to root.
  18. kAyToTieLaNg
    Offline

    kAyToTieLaNg Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Philippines
    Tablet / Device:
    android tablet WMT2.0.1_88
    Hi any one here know how to root using z4root. I have downloaded z4root directly to my sd card on my tablet pc. It was flytouch 2.0.1_88. I tried to root and it opt me to setup and checked USB debugging and gladly it has and says applying to root but it shutdown and when i tried to open seems nothins's change.

    Pls,, need your helf friends. Thanks!
  19. uplade3
    Offline

    uplade3 Super Moderator Staff Member

    Joined:
    Apr 29, 2011
    Messages:
    746
    Likes Received:
    62
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Asheville N.C.
    Tablet / Device:
    Flytouch II/SuperPAD Droid Charge/Razr, Galaxy S4
    Look on your app page and see if you have superuser installed. It will have a little icon and everything.
  20. kAyToTieLaNg
    Offline

    kAyToTieLaNg Junior Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    21
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    1
    Location:
    Philippines
    Tablet / Device:
    android tablet WMT2.0.1_88
    Hi uplade.. Thanks for advise. Huhu i dont know what to do. I cant see superuser icon in app. I try root it again and it was the same as before. I try to use root explorer to open like busybox and it replies "you seem not to be rooted". After checking that USB debugging, it always says attemting to appling root and then there's a statement i cant read because it shutdowns too fast. It's like "please wait to complete.. etc..", i dunno. :-S

Share This Page