Newbie advice - should I wait (7025/26) or buy now (7014/7024)?

driggs

Apr 22, 2011
I have been considering getting a tablet, but don't want to waste my money on something that doesn't work. (After all, I am one of the poor ones out there) After looking through a few forums, it looks like the Coby actually has a strong and active community, their hardware looks decent for the $, and they can be picked up at a local store with a return policy. Now, I am stuck on if I should buy a 7014 now (for about $150), wait a little while for the 7024 (for about $200) to hit the shelves locally, or waiting for the 7025/7026 for who knows how much $ or how long. My primary use for the device will be an eBook reader, occasional gaming (Angry Birds/Bejeweled type games), and to generally play around (hack) with Android. The multitouch screen (which I believe starts with the 7024) might be a nice touch, but not a deal breaker. Any advice is appreciated!!!!!

Again, I am a newbie here. My last reading device (Palm) finally died on me after a good 8 years. Also, I am fairly well versed in Linux (been using as my primary OS for the past 5 years).

Sketch_Says

Feb 6, 2011
This is a tough decision. All that I can suggest (as I struggled with this decision myself) is that the 7024 and higher are very new tablets and the community is still learning/working with them. The 7015 however; has a lot of options to really open the tablet up and make it well worth your time.

There are a number of Root functions, custom ROMs, system tweaks and so on in place for 7015. If you are well versed in Linux and would be open to Rooting the tablet, I would say the 7015 would be the way to go. We have some great developers/mods on this forum so I believe that the 7024 will have a lot to offer in time but from what I've read they only just recently rooted it for the first time. Good luck.

Sketch J. O'Brien
Jacksonville, FL

driggs

Apr 22, 2011