One Click Root For All Archos Gen8 Dervices: Archangel

Discussion in 'Archos Tablets' started by ArchosMike, Feb 14, 2011.

?

Did It Work For You

  1. YES! It's Great! Thanks

    33.3%
  2. Noooo (If You Pick This Go To Xda For Help)

    25.0%
  3. Haven't tried

    41.7%
  1. ArchosMike

    ArchosMike Member

    Joined:
    Feb 14, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Rooted Archos 70 IT 8GB
    A new one click root (permanent & temporary) for all Gen 8 tablets called achaangel has been released.

    Please Ignore the message in the application when installed and in the quote below because all firmwares are supported 2.1.4, 2.1.3, 2.1.2 and so on

    This was also posted on arctablet blog forums:Archangel One-click root on Archos 101,70,43,32 and 28 .

    Original Post from XDA by Archaism1:
    XDA POST LINK : Archos 101 one-click-root for firmware 2.0.71 using Archangel - xda-developers

    People Have made statements saying their may be a trojan in it but there has been no suspicious behaviour on my device. Permanent Works Great... Download titanium backup afterwards and press the problems button for a better busybox. If You want questions answered I reccomend referring to the vid or the xda/arctablet post. (XDA link above:))

    Video Tutorial (HURRAY);) thx to Arctablet Forum!:



    Sorry About The Links Thing, I Didnt want you to use the non-updated version :eek:
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2014
  2. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 250 GB, Nook Color, Motorola Droid2Global, Droid 1
    I just literally tried it and I obtained root.

    Did immediately the first things anyone needs to do on these things, used SetCPU to set the Clock actually to 1 Mhz, and used Autokiller to adjust the memory settings to give myself more free memory (forcing Android to keep as few things in the memory as possible, allowing for a smoother UI experience....NOT the same as auto-task killing). The last thing was a must on my OG Droid, it also only had 256 Megs RAM.

    Now it runs like a dream.

    Archos 70 250 GB on 2.0.71
     
  3. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Eee Pad Transformer and HTC Desire
  4. bobybc

    bobybc Member

    Joined:
    Feb 24, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 IT 8GB
    it seems that the root is not permanent
    i have lost it during my WIFI connection tries (i have problems with WPA-EAP APs)
    after som WIFI on/off i were able to obtain root again
     
  5. CarsnGadgets

    CarsnGadgets Member

    Joined:
    Dec 6, 2010
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    UK
    Tablet / Device:
    Asus Eee Pad Transformer and HTC Desire
    its a temp root solution with a check box in the app that can be ticked to automatically re-apply it on reboot, making it sort of permanent....

    but, it does require wifi to be on and connected (but doesnt require you to have internet access) for it to work. Once you have temp root working ok, go back into the app and tick the apply on reboot box and re-click the button below, then it should work on reboot.
     
    • Like Like x 1
  6. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 250 GB, Nook Color, Motorola Droid2Global, Droid 1
    Since I have the Hard Drive version I'm not bothering with a swap file, but Autokiller seems to adjust Android's memory settings quite well. Using SetCPU to adjust the clock speed back up to 1 Ghz definitely helps.
     
  7. Chaostheory6682

    Chaostheory6682 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Just so you folks know, you dont have to root and use SetCPU to get the proccessor to run at 1ghz. All you have to do is go into settings>about device>power managment, and select Overdrive. It will set the device to run at 1ghz stock.
     
    • Like Like x 2
  8. slopehead

    slopehead Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    ------------------------------------------------------

    Is there any root app that can handle the latest Gen8 firmware? My A43 was rooted with 2.3.20, but lost root on 2.3.26.

    Thanks!
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 29, 2014
  9. slopehead

    slopehead Member

    Joined:
    Jan 14, 2011
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Tablet / Device:
    Coby Kyros 7015
    ------------------------------------
    This is a "bump", as we still need an application, or an easy method to root Archos GEN8 devices with the latest 2.3.26 firmware.The current 'Archangel' app cannot tackle it.

    Anybody with success?
    Thanks
     
  10. userone912

    userone912 Member

    Joined:
    May 16, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Bali - Iindonesia
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 250Gb Internet Tablet
    Still waitin new version for OS v2.3.26..^_^
     
  11. supaballz

    supaballz Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    north devon
    Tablet / Device:
    archos 70 250 gb tablet
    hey I've done exactly as you've said word for word and I get to the part where it says "Obtain Root Now" which I pressed and it says "Please Wait" which I have now for about 45 minutes how long does this normally take ????I've got an archos 70 250gb I'm on firmware 2.4.19 (android 2.2.1) is this firmware ok to root I'm really new to this although I do have quite alot of experience in jailbreaking iPod/iphone/iPad using redsnow/greenpois0n which I find really easy but for some reason I just can't get my head around this please help I'm close on giving up and getting the iPad 2 but wanna stay with my archos because of the size of the hard drive many thanks :)
     
  12. Bilgediver

    Bilgediver Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2010
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 70 250 GB, Nook Color, Motorola Droid2Global, Droid 1
    Archangel doesn't work on the latest firmware. There are steps at XDA (perhaps I should post them) on obtaining root by using the developer firmware, though...

    Sent from my DROID2 GLOBAL
     
  13. yann2

    yann2 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2012
    Messages:
    414
    Likes Received:
    48
    Trophy Points:
    102
    Location:
    Ontario, Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Le Pan TC970, Archos 101, Palm Pre2 webOS, HP Touchpad
    The method described on the XDA Developers thread worked fine for me - it's a bit more complex, not a one touch tool.

    But you get root, and it's been constantly updated. Right now, our Archos 101 has the latest 2.4.82 firmware, and I got the custom kernel and other files from that thread. Working like a charm.

    Detailed instructions and links to all the tools and different firmware versions are provided in the original post in the thread. It's really Top Notch work, by chulri.

    I have disabled Archos Firmware Update for now (removing the Daos.apk from it's default location at /system/apps/, moved it elsewhere as a backup) so I won't have to be redoing this willy-nilly.

    The method described there can give you either a temporary or a permanent root.
     
    Last edited: Jan 29, 2012

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
archangel 2 apk
,
archangel apk archos
,
archangel apk root
,
archangel app
,
archangel application
,
archangel application download
,
archangel archos
,
archangel archos root
,
archangel download
,
archangel one-click root
,

archangel one-click root download

,

Archangel root

,

archangel root apk

,
archangel root apk download
,
archangel root download
,
archos gen apk xda
,

arctablet archangel

,
arctablet archangel download
,
root archos 101 g8
,
rw root gen8