Rooting the Augen Gentouch

Discussion in 'Augen Gentouch' started by xaueious, Aug 2, 2010.

  1. Swould333

    Swould333 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 101, Viewsonic G-Tablet, Motorola Droid X.... test drove: Augen gentouch 78, Coby Kyros 7015

    WHOOTTT!!!!!! you go man... :D
     
  2. Swould333

    Swould333 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 101, Viewsonic G-Tablet, Motorola Droid X.... test drove: Augen gentouch 78, Coby Kyros 7015
  3. aaoflaca

    aaoflaca Member

    Joined:
    Aug 12, 2010
    Messages:
    24
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Are there any specific specs for the SD card, I should use, it is a regular micro SD CARD, Right ??, and are there any specific class the SC card that should be used ??
     
  4. Swould333

    Swould333 Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2010
    Messages:
    354
    Likes Received:
    23
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    Archos 101, Viewsonic G-Tablet, Motorola Droid X.... test drove: Augen gentouch 78, Coby Kyros 7015
    I'm thinking any microSD UP TO 16GB will work fine... just be careful inserting it.. the card slot is a tad big.. and if you're not careful it will fall into the tablets inards...lol
     
    Last edited: Aug 17, 2010
  5. sgspearman

    sgspearman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    I can't get my Augen rooted - it fails at the step where it is recognized in Device Manager on my Windows 7 system. Instead of showing up as "Android Eclair" like is indicated, it only shows up as 2 or 3 portable device drives . I then get a chance to mount it on the Tablet drop down menu, but that just gives one of the devices showing up in My Computer pointing to an area on the SD card (I think). I did apply the firmware update from Augen. Am I just missing something obvious? Thanks for any help!
     
  6. obiwan22

    obiwan22 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NULL
    bad mistake applying the firmware update from augen first
    you are going to have to get rid of that update somehow before you install adb
     
  7. sgspearman

    sgspearman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Bummer - hadn't seen any warnings on that. Do you know what they changed that keeps it from being recognized the same way?
     
  8. obiwan22

    obiwan22 Member

    Joined:
    Aug 9, 2010
    Messages:
    51
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NULL
    nothing changes

    however before you do adb, it is the first driver update you do to the augen and when you apply the official drivers first, it recognizes them instead of the adb ones
     
  9. sgspearman

    sgspearman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    OK, the problem wasn't the new firmware. I had turned off USB debugging so it wasn't connecting correctly to finish the adb. Turned that back on and finished the instructions and it's rooted fine now.
     
  10. manfly9884

    manfly9884 Member

    Joined:
    Jun 18, 2010
    Messages:
    31
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    NULL
    I have way of turning debugging on. Where can I find the way to turn it back on. In my tablet it is not under settings/development
     
  11. JesterDroid

    JesterDroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    hey everyone! so i just wanted to say im glad there is a GT forum here! i am jesterdroid from AndroidSpin & XDA. So i have plenty of experience in android with root and ADB. maybe its me or maybe since i dont use a windows machine to dev on. but i cannot ADB into my GT... im on Ubuntu 10.04 setup with all my SDK Goodies. so, what am i doing wrong? whenever i try to push or even just get to shell i get "insufficient permissions for this device" if i do a "adb devices" i get in the list "?????????? no permissions"
    thanks again!

    JesterDroid
     
  12. JesterDroid

    JesterDroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Whats funny is i open DDMS and it shows 2 devices in the list as just "????????????? ??"
    just to give more info for ya guys.. thanks


    JesterDroid
     
  13. sgspearman

    sgspearman Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2010
    Messages:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    Look at Settings/applications/Development
     
  14. JesterDroid

    JesterDroid Member

    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2010
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    NULL
    ok so after playing with it a couple days, i figured it out in case someone else in ubuntu is trying to gain adb shell access

    first you have to open "Root Terminal" under applications/system tools
    then get to your tools folder in your sdk
    "in my case it is root@ubuntu:/home/jester/android-sdk/tools#"
    once you are there you need to kill the server.. restart it.. then remount it.... so...
    ./adb kill-server (make sure it has the Dot Slash "./" in front of adb... )
    ./adb start-server
    ./adb remount

    that is it.. exit out of root terminal and go back to regular terminal to do your adb shell /push /install whatever

    jester@ubuntu:~$adb shell (in regular terminal dont worry about the slash dot "./"

    #

    your in! any questions let me know...

    JesterDroid
     
  15. tipstir

    tipstir Senior Member Developer

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2010
    Messages:
    1,505
    Likes Received:
    110
    Trophy Points:
    162
    Location:
    USA
    Tablet / Device:
    COBY KYROS 7015 | 7015A
    I am all done now..
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
augen gentouch
,

how to get android to run on augen