Skyfire has decided to stop working, please help!

CheerfulLuke

Oct 24, 2011
Howdy!

I've been using my Sony tablet for about a month now and today, I can no longer open Skyfire (it just pops up the force close message). I initially tried power cycle, then uninstall (from the market), then uninstall from settings along with deleting the folder that had been created and nothing seems to work (power cycling inbetween for good measure). This is my first android device so I'm a little new to this but am pretty tech literate. I appreciate any help that could get me going again!

Running 3.2.

Sent from my Sony Tablet S using Tapatalk

jbenham

Official ATF App Tester
Oct 25, 2011
I am not real tech-literate but have Skyfire on a couple devices. I have had a couple problems with it too. Are you still having problems, or was it temporary? Hope it is only temporary as it is my favorite browser.

evaddnomaid

Nov 12, 2011
Hi Luke,

Were there any changes in your device? For example, did you do an OS upgrade? Or remove any of the default software?

Is Skyfire installed on the device's native storage, or on an SD card? Does it help if you change where Skyfire is installed (move it to the SD card, or vice-versa)?

- Dave, Skyfire community manager

CheerfulLuke

Oct 24, 2011
I can't think of anything that I did which would have altered the device properties. I got the 3.2 update the day I bought it and downloaded skyfire a few days later. I didn't remove any default SW between it working and not. The only thing that might have changed was the market version, I updated the market app to 3.3.1.1 based on a posting on xdadevelopers forum (perhaps not my smartest move but seems to work great and I've had no issues, it even provided portrait support which I was happy about)...