Vision to get honeycomb first

Discussion in 'Vizio Tablets' started by Asl9622, Dec 17, 2011.

  1. Asl9622

    Asl9622 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    vtab
    Just got off customer support to handle my audio issue where speakers cut out and need reboot. They told me sometimes it is an app that is still trying to access sound. Instead of rebooting he said use an app killer and it should work. I did ask about ice cream sandwich and he said he cannot give an eta but engineers were working on honeycomb. He did not rule out ics in the future but they wanted to upgrade in succession.

    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  2. Asl9622

    Asl9622 Member

    Joined:
    Dec 12, 2011
    Messages:
    7
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Tablet / Device:
    vtab
    Sorry about title auto correct put vision.

    Sent from my VTAB1008 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  3. JoelWUpchurch

    JoelWUpchurch Member

    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2011
    Messages:
    41
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Florida
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio vtab1008
    I'm not sure that is much reason to upgrade to honeycomb. Most of the honeycomb is to support hardware the vizio doesn't have. I would like hid support, but I don't think that requires a new OS. I don't think USB host mode would on existing hardware.
     
  4. dnoonan

    dnoonan Member

    Joined:
    Oct 13, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    Generic Android Tablet
    Tell me more about the sound problem. I have that a lot. Did you find an app that was causing the problem?
     
  5. gjhuff

    gjhuff Member

    Joined:
    Oct 30, 2011
    Messages:
    76
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    New Orleans, LA
    Tablet / Device:
    VTAB 1008
    Every time I read about this, there is a different story. When I spoke to CS about replacing my VTAB due to power port issues, the Rep thought Honeycomb would be bypassed in favor of ICS - but he didn't really know. I wish VTAB would communicate with its customer base.
     
  6. Maine_Coon

    Maine_Coon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab1008
    Why do we need HoneyComb?
     
  7. fadefx

    fadefx Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2011
    Messages:
    49
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Vienna Austria
    Tablet / Device:
    Vizio Vtab1008
    Nobody needs honeycomb if ics gets ported. Thing is that those who want root will not be able to update to ics if it comes out.

    However, i am currently trying to get access to the kernel sources. If we get those we just need an expirienced kernel dev and we can get full cm7 or even cm9 and wont need vizio anymore.

    My findings so far:

    Vtab1008 is based on marvell brownstone development platform, so i contacted a dev at marvell responsible for brownstone kernel. The downside is that vizio changed some5hing to the platform and the brownstone source from marvell is not compatible.

    So i asked the dev if he can give contact to vizio development department as the vizio support did refuse to do so.

    ----------------------------------------
    tapatalked from GalaxyS
     
    • Like Like x 4
  8. Maine_Coon

    Maine_Coon Member

    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2011
    Messages:
    121
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Tablet / Device:
    Vtab1008
    Thanks for your efforts.

    The only thing needed to get rid of root is to enable Vizio Update service.

    If Vizio will do OTA ICS, I "might" consider this.
     

Share This Page