Factory data reset of Gtablet

Auzzie515

Feb 22, 2012
Hello, Forgive me but im new to tablets.

I was given a Viewsonic Gtablet as a gift that was loaded with Honeycomb Flashback 5.5

As far as I could tell it was a 1.2

I wanted to put vegan gingerbread OS on the tablet so I could use flash as Honeycomb would not allow this.

I installed CWM and factory reset the tablet

Now it wont load past hte Honeycomb 3.0 screen

Alternatively when I push the power and volume + button I get the Viewsonic 3 birds and a message "Recovery key detected Boothing recovery kernel image" but it never goes in the CWM or any recovery mode (also It would not go into recovery mode before the factory data reset)

I honestly do not know what to do as I am a noob

Please help!!!

Auzzie515

Feb 22, 2012
Also my laptop wont recognize my tablet

And I pressed the power and volume - buttons to load APX mode and after the viewsonic screen flashes the screen goes black and nothing happens

Thanx for any and all help in advance

Last edited:

sonicpcmat

Feb 26, 2014
Also my laptop wont recognize my tablet

Thanks for any and all help in advance

Recovery instruction
for G tablet
This is in an update.zip format. Extract the rar to the root of your internal memory, so that you have a recovery folder and an update.zip. You'll need the apk folder only if you wish to install the Terminal Emulator via a sideload.

Run either standard or clockworkmod recovery and install the same way you would install any ROM. Again, this is only a small set to tools, not a full ROM!

[GUIDE] Restore G Tablet after a Failed Recovery Mode "update.zip" - xda-developers

[RECOVERY] 1.2 based recovery options (Recovery Pack, cwm, standard recovery) [G-TABLET] - Viewsonic G-Tablet Disaster Recovery - SlateDroid.com

sonicpcmat

Feb 26, 2014
Also you can try with on the tablet with pressing Volume + key
Hold volume + key
when display recovery mode... press home key
Wait until display
when display menu