Intro and please HELP

cmittman

Dec 19, 2011
I'm a retired physician, avid traveler and serious photographer ( see <mitty.smugmug.com>). I have used a netbook while traveling to uploaad my photos and back up to a portable hard drive. I hope to use my new Acer A100 instead for the same functions. I love it already for web surfing and reading my Kindle books. I took some photos using a microSD card, inserted it in Acer and opened photos with RawDroid. I can see the photo files on external SD (both the JPEGS and RAW files), but what do I do next (don't you just love newbies). I'd like to set up a series of folders under a master folder (MyPictures--like in Windows 7) and deposit the folders in other places for safe keeping and to free the space on the tablet so it can accept more photos. Uploading to Picassa seems like a good move. I'd also like to still use my portable hard drive. It would be nice to be able to look at the files on the hard drive, but that is not essential. I don't do any photo processing while I am away on a trip. Thanks for listening to a newby.

J515OP

Super Moderator
Staff member
Jan 6, 2011
Hi and welcome. It sounds like you next move is to get a file manager like ES Explorer or Astro. Then you can move the files from the SD card to the hard drive under whatever file system you setup. I'm not sure if your device supports a portable hard drive via usb but if it does, you just reverse the process and move the files off of the hard drive and on to the hard drive. You may also be able to move straight from SD card to hard drive but you will have to test and see if you can do that. If your portable hard drive is hooked up to a pc on the same wifi network as you tablet you should also be able to access the files over the network so that you can view them or move them to and from the tablet without having to hook up the usb drive.

Spider

Administrator
Staff member
Mar 24, 2011