WIFI Reception

Jul 12, 2013
Hi All. This is my first time here. I am not technical but slightly obsessional. Imported a Chinese android tablet (Ainol). Great device for the price but poor wifi reception at any distance from the router. There are so many articles about this deficit on lower priced tablets. Made worse by metal backed tablets. Seems there are very few articles about a modification. I would like suggestions about removing the installed wifi antenna for a better one. Here are my non technical assumptions: An internal wifi antenna is a standard piece of equipment. As long as it fits inside your device then it should work. So if I install an iPad antenna, which is clearly a better antenna than other makes, it should improve my wifi reception? Your thoughts would be helpful as there is very limited information out there. Many Thanks. Paul

leeshor

Dec 27, 2011
Welcome to the forum

Your antenna suggestion isn't bad, but not very reasonable. If the WiFi isn't working well you probably wouldn't be able to fit an antenna in the case that would make things better. Personally - when I have been at my customer's site where they have i devices I haven't seen that they had any better WiFi than my Android devices.

However, it is possible in many cases to improve the reception with adjustments to the router. Being that i devices, phones and tablets, use different chips and drivers for the WiFi than Android devices they can't be compared very well. I have a link below with some suggestions that may help in your situation.

Jul 12, 2013