New Owner of 2 Kyros 8024's - My impressions.

berniejr72

Dec 13, 2011
Just wanted to take a moment to give thanks for all of the great information within this forum. I've been lurking for some time now as I've been researching some tablets for my 3 daughters (ages 14, 12, and 5). I work in the IT field and I own 2 android tablets myself, so I am familiar with a lot of the possibilities out here but the forum gave me better insight of particulars with some of the lesser known tablets such as Coby.

My oldest 2 girls had a very specific list of wants on a device:

Internet
Netflix
YouTube
Music
Angry Birds
Fruit Ninja
Video chat via Oovoo/Skype
Facebook
Twitter
Kindle App

While my youngest just wants to be able to use the Kid's Mode app by Zoodles along with Angry Birds and Fruit Ninja

After a couple of months of research I settled on the 8024 for my oldest two, and was able to pick it up for $149.99 shipped via Amazon. The biggest parts of my decision were based on price (I wanted to stay under $200, although $150 was ideal) and the availability of great support via forums and custom Rom's such as Nefarious Bread for the 8024.

Well I got both delivered on Friday and spent the weekend testing the units out and I must say that I am very impressed with my purchase.

I was able to flash to Nefarious Bread v 1.2 in less than five minutes and after that connect to Wi-Fi, log into the market and other sources and load all of the software they want and everything works flawlessly! This Rom for the 8024 really makes this a great device, especially when you consider the cost. The only app that I thought wouldn’t work (because I couldn’t find confirmation that it would) was Oovoo. Well I located the APK and side loaded it and it worked without any problems for video chat!