Poppin the Android Cherry

Nov 2, 2010
hello all,

im dan and im a student livin in chi-town usa. at the beginning of my android journey it was my intention to buy a amazon kindle or some like ereader so i can read the many many pdf's i have collected. well during my research i ran across a android tablet. after more research and comparing different tablets i purchased this spiffy lil tablet from some Chinese company. this is the link to the tablet i got if yall wanna c.

Android 2.1 Tablet PC-aPad-MID-7 TFT Touch Screen-ARM 11-Telechips 8902B-720MHZ-256 DDR2-2G-Wifi-Camera(SMQ5821) - US$ 169.99

at first i was a lil iffy about gettin it from china but i saw enough good feedback and review videos to take a leap of faith.

now i really have no idea what im doin when i got my tablet. i had to mess with a couple of settings to kinda get it going but i had it working, kinda. i got it connected to the internet and even connected to the market place but when i tried to download an app it just sat there in a never ending "starting download" state. ok off to the internet to find a fix, kinda how i found this site, where i find out that you cant just take the tablet out the box n play with it, you gotta flash it or root it or screw it then sue it to get the tablet running to its fullest potential.

ok im a tech person and since it comes from the other side of the world changing some settings to get it to work here makes sense. but, im an android virgin! i have no clue how to do all this stuff. from what ive read if you install the wrong thing into the tab or go about it the wrong way u can brick ur tablet. and yeaaaaa i would like to avoid that.

so now that im here makin my intro ill tell ya why im here at this site.

1. i need to know what to do to update my tablet to the most current version.