Problem with Preloaded Norton Tablet Security on Lenovo IdeaTab A2109A

ranabirghosh

Oct 18, 2012
Hi, I am new to androidtablets.net and this is my first post. I am also very new to Android OS and Tablets, but I am working with computers right from 1987 using DOS, Unix and Windows platforms.

Few weeks ago I bought a Lenovo IdeaTab A2109A which was launched very recently. It was preloaded with Norton Tablet Security with one months subscription free with monthly renewal option only. So near the end of the month I purchased a 1-year subscription from Norton website online, downloaded, installed and activated it. The subscription period showed 367 days left, probably because 2-days where still valid from the pre-installed one month subscription.

Trouble started when I tried to update the virus definitions next day. I got a prompt "There is a newer version available, upgrade?" I clicked on "YES" and Nortons Mobile Security for tablets downloaded. While installing, it asked permission to uninstall the last version installed, which I gave and it showed "Uninstall successful". Then it gave a message "Another installation of Nortns Tablet Security is found, need to uninstall it" as I clicked on "yes" and got a message "Un-install Unsuccessful!". The preinstalled "Norton Tablet Security" showed "Subscription expired" and Norton Mobile Security for Tablets showed "Free version" !!! The only option left for me was to uninstall it and re-install my purchased Norton Tablet Security" and re-activate with the Authorization Key, which I did.

Now every time I try to update the virus definitions, I get a prompt to install the newer version "Norton Mobile Security for Tablets" which I decline then I get a message "Update unsuccessful and not installed"!!! I posted the problem at Nortons website but never got a reply. I could not find any group for Lenovo Tablets with Android OS in Android.net.