Any luck using Apple Bluetooth Keyboard with 3.1?

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by Therev1969, Jul 6, 2011.

  1. Therev1969

    Therev1969 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 Tablet
    Hey all! Anyone know how to pair and use an Apple Bluetooth keyboabrd with Acer A500 running Honeycomb 3.1? Wisdom please!
     
  2. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Would it not be the same as pairing any BT keyboard? I have been thinking of buying the Logitech BT Keyboard for Tablets, they have one for Android and one for iPad. However, I have both tablets but only want one keyboard. I'm hoping one will work with both tablets. My understanding is that that works as long as both conform to HID standards for BT (or something like that).
     
  3. Bec

    Bec Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Apple does have a skill of breaking any standard it comes across...
     
  4. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    That's a good point...I wonder if that is true of Logitech too?
     
  5. Bec

    Bec Member

    Joined:
    May 26, 2011
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I wouldn't risk getting the Apple logitech version. The android one has custom play pause fwd etc buttons too. If the iVersion has them too they probably won't work on android.
     
  6. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Those are the least important keys for me....so I would not be upset if they were the only things that didn't work....
     
  7. jmlivingston

    jmlivingston Member

    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2010
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Mission Viejo, Ca
    Logitech's android keyboard works well, I've got one paired to my A500.
     
  8. kes601

    kes601 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I think I have an extra Apple bluetooth keyboard at home, I'll try to pair it this evening.
     
  9. kes601

    kes601 Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2011
    Messages:
    72
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    Virginia Beach, VA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Typing this with the Apple Bluetooth keyboard. Believe it or not, the volume buttons and the media control buttons work as well.

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  10. AQ_OC

    AQ_OC Member

    Joined:
    May 14, 2011
    Messages:
    313
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Greenville, SC
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500
    Cool....that's the HID standard at work.
     
  11. csoren

    csoren Member

    Joined:
    May 19, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Copenhagen, Denmark
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500, Nexus One, HTC Hero
    Oh wow, thanks for sharing. Is it one of the newer aluminum chiclet style keyboards?
     
  12. Dart

    Dart Member

    Joined:
    May 2, 2011
    Messages:
    45
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    70
    Location:
    South Florida, USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 Tablet
    I have the Apple bluetooth keyboard connected to my A500 and it works fine.
     
  13. androidnewb

    androidnewb Member

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2011
    Messages:
    69
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    I bought the Acer BT keyboard, works fine.
     
  14. Therev1969

    Therev1969 Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 Tablet
    Got it working! Thanks for the help. Now if I can eliminate the typing lagg in the browser! Yikes!
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page
apple bluetooth keyboard on android tablet
,
apple bluetooth keyboard pairing with android tablet
,

can i pair an android tablet with an apple bluetooth keyboard

,
will apple bluetooth keyboard work with acer iconia