Any Recommended App for brightness

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by Icebike, May 20, 2011.

  1. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    The auto-brightness control either doesn't work consistently or it simply can't/won't dim the screen enough in a darkened room, which leaves me staring into a glaringly bright screen when reading at night.

    So I end up going to settings and setting it down as far as it can go. Then I have to do the same thing to set it up again in the morning.

    Has anyone encountered a GOOD widget that allows access to this slider and/or the check box?
     
  2. Raven312

    Raven312 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I use and love Quick Settings, from the market. It allows you to turn auto brightness on or off and adjust intensity. No more menu digging.

    Sent from my PC36100 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  3. pentool

    pentool Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I tried a few and finally settled with this one.

    However, what I found is that none of them actually dims the display enough in a dark room. I find the display still bright at 0% when all the lights are off. I like the iTouch's display better from this way, since it can be dimmed down quite well.

    However, I've noticed that using MoboPlayer, I can dim the video WAY down. Not sure why. Maybe the video brightness and LCD brightness are two different things on this tablet...?
     
  4. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
  5. pentool

    pentool Member

    Joined:
    May 1, 2011
    Messages:
    93
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Why not try both and see which one YOU like?
     
  6. Raven312

    Raven312 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    This one. $uploadfromtaptalk1305935110708.jpg

    Sent from my A500 using Android Tablet Forum
     
  7. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Ok, thanks, that's the one I got.
    It seems to be ok. (I thought it was a widget but I guess not).
    Shake to brighten does not seem to work, and once you make settings (at least when running it as a window) you can't get at the settings any more so you have to go in and clear settings (via the settings menu) and then reset everything again. Why is there no tools menu button?

    But it will take brightness down to almost zero.
     
  8. Raven312

    Raven312 Member

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2011
    Messages:
    325
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    Chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I talked to the developer; they're going to adapt it to the tablet soon. I use it on my phone and on my phone, it's fantastic. It stays in your pulldown so it's always where you need it, no matter what program you're in. Not yet for the tablet, though. For the tablet I simply configured it for the settings I use the most.
     
  9. frieslander

    frieslander Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2011
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    62
    Location:
    Woodstock, Ontario, Canada
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer A500 and Aluratek AT107F
    I just tap the right bottom of the screen, it expands. Then tap the symbol just under the last number of the clock and the Brigtness slider appears.
     
  10. wijawara

    wijawara Member

    Joined:
    Jul 27, 2011
    Messages:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    I am using Display Brightness. It seems to work for Iconia. Just dont go below 3% or you need to clear data cache to reset. Also dont choose to restart app when reboot the machine.
     
  11. Desso

    Desso Member

    Joined:
    Jul 18, 2011
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    North Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500 16gig
    except outside, i keep my screen as dim as it will go. i see it fine and it sves tons of battery.
     
  12. wolfganggold

    wolfganggold Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2011
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    72
    Location:
    Louisville, KY
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    I use widgetsoid, free on the market. It's allowed me to replace several individual widgets and combine them into a single toolbar-like one. Mine lets me toggle wifi, brightness, and the led flashlight and also shows me free internal and external memory, sound settings, and battery temperature. It's highly configurable and can pretty much show you whatever you want. It also includes a clock widget. It's pretty cool for the money!
     
  13. frnkws

    frnkws Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2011
    Messages:
    184
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    87
    Location:
    PA USA
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia A500
    Why don't you click on your reader settings and just click "night"
    The screen will be black with white letters.
    If you use FB Reader all you have to do is drag your finger down along the left side of the screen and you can lower brightness to complete darkness.
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

android app to brighten video

,
android apps that lighten videos
,

app to brighten video android

,
app to lighten video android
,
apps to brighten tablet screen
,
brighten up any video for android
,
iconia a500 brightness down
,

lighten video android