Anyone else suddenly unable to connect to wifi?

Discussion in 'Acer Iconia Tab A500 Forum' started by princepapa, Sep 22, 2011.

  1. princepapa

    princepapa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    USA - South Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia A500
    Was connected to wifi last night when I went to bed. Work up this morning and it wouldn't connect either at home or at work. No router settings have changed at either location. Tablet goes through the process of connecting, but continually restarts the process, never actually connecting. I had this same problem back in July, which was fixed by installing the patch acer release. Currently there is not a new patch.
    Anyone else have this issue? Additionally, any idea what's causing it? Table software hasn't changed (that I'm aware of), router settings haven't changed.
     
  2. scubaboyc

    scubaboyc Senior Member

    Joined:
    Aug 3, 2011
    Messages:
    224
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    195
    Location:
    chicago
    Tablet / Device:
    acer iconia A500
    The same thing started happening to me. My GPS also started to flake out a couple of days ago, then this morning no wifi. Everything else in the house is fine.
     
  3. princepapa

    princepapa Member

    Joined:
    Jul 23, 2011
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    USA - South Carolina
    Tablet / Device:
    Iconia A500
    Honestly, it's getting old. When I go to my parent's house I have to keep pandora running 24/7 because if it idles too long it will disconnect from wifi and won't reconnect without a restart. My parents got a new router, same issue. I don't know what the deal is with this thing, but it needs to stop.
     
  4. Quantumcat

    Quantumcat Member

    Joined:
    Apr 21, 2011
    Messages:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Glendale, AZ
    Tablet / Device:
    G2
    This is a well known older issue. I believe it has to do with the pref file getting corrupted. The easest way to get it going is to go into your wifi settings and discard all of your saved wifi spots. Then reboot the netbook. You should be able to go in and then select your wifi router and connect and save the info, etc. I had to do this a few times now. Not sure if the issue is in android or acer though.
     
  5. Miatapa

    Miatapa Member

    Joined:
    Aug 19, 2011
    Messages:
    8
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Ogden Utah
    Tablet / Device:
    Acer Iconia Tab A500
    This happened to me the other day & the only way I was able to fix it was to reboot the wireless router. Don't know why that fixed it, but it did.
     
  6. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310

    I've had this happen to my routers too, even since way back in my iphone days. Lots of devices waking and sleeping connecting and disconnecting seem to confuse routers. Sleep mode NEVER seems to help.
     
  7. IslandSoul808

    IslandSoul808 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Henderson,NV
    Tablet / Device:
    Sony Tablet S
    Okay so I just bought a sony tablet and I tried everything but still no internet connection....has this ever happened to any of you???
     
  8. Icebike

    Icebike Senior Member

    Joined:
    Apr 28, 2011
    Messages:
    1,523
    Likes Received:
    186
    Trophy Points:
    310
    Buying a Sony tablet? No, never happened to me.

    Reboot both the router avd the tablet.

    But this isn't the Sony forum.
     
  9. lbaker360

    lbaker360 Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2011
    Messages:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    60
    Location:
    Kansas City, Mo.
    Tablet / Device:
    ZT-180 10"
    Try reading the manual, and go to the "settings" to adjust your connectivity. I had to go to settings menu and enter in the information manually.

    Sent from my zt180 using Android Tablet Forum
     

Share This Page

Search tags for this page

cant connect to wifi with sony tablet